Customer reviews for Milgard Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows

Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows

Milgard Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows

The dimensional stability of UltraSeries fiberglass windows make ita popular choice for high humidity and high heat environments such as bathrooms and kitchens.
Overall rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(16 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
12

 out

of 
16(75%)
recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows
Review 1 for Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Features 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Appearance 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Quality 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Value for the Price 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Ease of use 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedSeptember 10, 2013

A strong, well made, full featured, quality product.

We replaced 31 windows of various types with Milgard Ultra products and have superb noise and harmful ray reduction. They open and shut with the precision of a bank vault and are clearly built to last a very long time. The physical strength was important to our selection and we are well satisfied.
Our house has received numerous compliments regarding both inside and outside appearance.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
John41
From:Seattle, WA, USA
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
+1point
21of 41voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows
Overall rating 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Features 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Appearance 
2 out of  5
2 out of  5
Quality 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Value for the Price 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Ease of use 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
PostedJuly 9, 2017

Ultra wood clad

Gaps at every corner, some 1/16" wide. Taped them when painting kitchen, paper thin wood veneer peeled off when removing tape.
The main drawback is that Milgard will not sell/ supply any of the veneer to make repairs, nor will they warranty the veneer coming off.
I would be fine if their veneer was available to make repairs. Wish I would have known before spending many thousands of dollars on windows and doors.
Damage the veneer and you have to replace the entire window or door rather than repair.
All the time and $ to uninstall, reinstall, plus the couple thousand dollars for large windows, I strongly suggest to avoid these.
Zip Code96008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard Social TeamJuly 10, 2017
I'm so sorry to hear about what you are going through. The WoodClad Series is a wood veneer product. The Essence Series is a solid wood product. All warranty details are available here: https://www.milgard.com/learn/under... I am sorry that we do not have the veneer available to provide to you for after market service support.
Customer avatar
LarryP
State:California, CA
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows
Overall rating 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
PostedJune 10, 2017

Defective window seals. MW is aware of the issue but finds excuses not to honor so called warranty.

Every window in my house that's 12 years old has defective windows that you cannot see clearly through. They look dirty but have been professionally cleaned & inspected to find every window has defective seals which cause moisure & dirt to get trapped between the panes that cannot be removed without replacing the glass. Their warranty is a joke, good luck getting MW to honor it.
After talking to others in my neighborhood THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH MW BUT THE PROBLEM DOESN'T SHOW ITSELF UNTIL 10 YEARS OR SO!
I will never buy or even consider MW windows in thw future nor will I buy a house that has them installed without a contingency that they be replaced with a brand that honors their warranty and does sell defective windows.
Zip Code66224
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard Social TeamJune 20, 2017
I'm so sorry to hear about the frustrating experience you are having. Our Full Lifetime Warranty is for the original owner who purchased the windows. We can provide information for a dealer who could assist you as a 2nd owner. Please let me know if I can help by contacting me at social@milgard.com.
Customer avatar
CloudyMWwindows
State:Kansas, KS
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:6-10
Customer Type:Homeowner
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows
Overall rating 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Features 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Appearance 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Quality 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Value for the Price 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Ease of use 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedMarch 1, 2016

Terrible quality

We purchased over $25k of Milgard Ultra series windows and a French door for our home and were disappointed by the extremely poor quality. The assembly of the windows is very poor. The miter corners do not line up. The plastic weatherstripping is uneven. One of the screens arrived bowed. The French door does not line up and the threshold is damaged. See photos taken the day of installation. We are very disappointed and dissatisfied.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy JoannMilgard StaffMarch 7, 2016
Thanks for emailing me with more details. I've contacted customer service and our manufacturing plant to address this issue. Please let us know if this is not resolved to your satisfaction. Thank you.
Customer avatar
LAnneW
State:California, CA
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Appearance 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Value for the Price 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Ease of use 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedSeptember 26, 2015

Great quality, value, and warranty.

My wife and I seriously considered fiberglass windows from both Pella and Milgard. Both offer products of beauty and quality. We had quotes from both providers and Pella was willing to under cut the Milgard quote by 10%. However, Pella would not provide a Lifetime warranty. As warranty is a critical factor in the purchase decision for us, we selected Milgard.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
Mark00Clairemont
State:California, CA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:51-70
Customer Type:Homeowner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows
Overall rating 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Features 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Appearance 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Quality 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Value for the Price 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Ease of use 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
PostedMay 14, 2015

WoodClad windows use fake wood

SGK sold me Milgard windows to match the Marvin windows installed by the previous owner. The WoodClad is a joke. It is "wood" is actually contact paper over a vinyl window. The advertising says, "Milgard windows feature furniture-grade, clear, vertical-grain Douglas fir." There is no way the frames are furniture-grade. They also say, "have a beautiful vertical grain Douglas Fir interior that is ready to take your stain or seal coat." Other than paint, you really cannot change the color of coating, as you can with real wood. Clear coating makes the 'wood' look fake.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffAugust 4, 2015
CaliforniaHomeOwner, thank you for your feedback. We apologize you were misinformed about the product. Our WoodClad Series windows feature a wood veneer on the interior for a wood-look.

If you are looking for wood windows, please take a look at the Essence Series, which feature solid wood on the interior. You can find more information here:
http://www.milgard.com/windows/esse...

We strive to provide clear and transparent product information on our website and will be thoroughly double-checking for accuracy. If you have additional questions, please do not hesitate to follow up with us at 1 800 MILGARD.
Customer avatar
CaliforniaHomeOwner
State:California, CA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Features 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Appearance 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Value for the Price 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Ease of use 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedOctober 28, 2014

Years of use and not a single problem!

This is the second house I've used Milgard windows in.
In the year 2002, I put Milgard windows in my 7th house, located in Durango, CO. That house is now a rental of mine. Not a single problem with any of them in all that time. There are some sliders, some casements and one awning. They all open, close and lock like new to this day. Interior screens, low-e double paned glass were what drew me to them originally. Some were replacements for insecure, old aluminum windows that were terribly inefficient, had a lot of solar gain in the summer, and many had failing seals. Others were casement and awning styles for the additional rooms created with a remodel, and replacements for the upper floor rooms. What a huge difference they made in sound transmission (so little afterwards) and no more air leakage. The energy bills really dropped for both winter and summer.
When it came time to redo my current personal home in 2011 (which is house #6 for me), I had 4 casement Ultra windows, with low-e triple panes, put into a new addition (my new office) on the 2nd floor, over the living room. Two windows face directly east, one south and one north. They are perfect! I've never had any issues with them at all either. Love that the screens are inside mounted as it makes cleaning the windows so easy. There is virtually no outside noise from the backyard and neighbors anymore, when they are closed, and no solar gain either. The room is very quiet and very comfortable temperature-wise too. With the summer sun shining on them, if you put your hand on the glass, there is very little heat passing through. Keeps the office cool in the summer and warm in the winter.
I also had an awning Ultra window installed on the west side of the house in another new addition I call the nook. It's actually an extension across the hall from my new office space, and is above the front foyer of the house. Currently, the room is used as another office space for my child and has bookshelves too. I also use the nook myself for non-work reading (cookbooks, travel books, art books) and file storage. The awning window faces due west. It's also triple paned low-e, and an inside mounted screen. When I sit at the nook desk, I hear almost no street noise at all, and there's very little solar gain. This nook also stays warm in the winter and cool in the summer, so no air leaking at all.
So, after witnessing the wonderful virtues of the new windows, I decided to change out ALL my other windows on the first floor of the house to the Ultra series. In the basement I went with a different series from Milgard that are side sliders. What a difference they have all made in the noise coming in, the security of my house, and best of all, the energy efficiency. No more drafty rooms! I haven't had any issues with any of them. I still have more to install on the 2nd floor in the bedrooms, but these aren't going in until 2015, due to circumstances that prevented me from changing all of them earlier.
I've had family members, some friends and many neighbors came over to see my whole house remodeling since I started it in 2011. They always notice how comfortable it is inside, and how quiet my house is too. I tell them it's the windows! It's why I chose these. Two sets of friends, one family member, and 3 neighbors have now switched out their old drafty windows to Milgard Ultras too. They have all said they too were very happy with the results.
In general, fiberglass window frames have fewer problems than any other style of window I've ever lived with. They are far less likely to react to exterior and/or interior environmental changes. And, by the way, I've lived in no less than 16 different homes and apartments in my lifetime. I think some other people here maybe have issues for various reason. Often it's the fault of the installer, and not the windows themselves. They might have soil movement and/or house shifting issues, or more humidity where they live, which can make a big difference in performance too.
When I start building my next house in 3 years, a straw bale one, I'm going to use Milgard Fiberglass windows again, and likely their doors too.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
Jae6and7
From:Boulder, CO
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Craftsman
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Features 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Appearance 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Quality 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Value for the Price 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Ease of use 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedJune 26, 2014

Great windows

I am a contractor in Arizona. When I went looking for windows for my own home I did alot of research about windows for a hot climate. Milgard Ultra came out on top. I installed twelve casement windows 8 years ago and have been exceptionally pleased with them. The 3D glass system is amazing, our home is radically more comfortable in the summer. We live on a busy street and the traffic noise reduction is probably 90% over our old aluminum sliders. The white fiberglass frames show little to no signs of aging after 8 years in full desert sun. The operating mechanisms have had no issues and the windows still operate fine. I have had only two minor issues with these windows; the screens have sliding retaining pins in the four corners, but they are a pain to install because the pins don't line up well with the window and the pins get sticky and won't slide. I believe the newer window screens have a better retaining system. The only service issue I have had in eight years was with the outermost weather stripping. It is exposed to the elements, and the original product failed ( became sticky, decomposed and retained dirt). I contacted Milgard and they came out and replaced all of it, no problem. Lifetime Warranty!!
I highly recomend these windows, my only regret is that soon after I purchased them Milgard came out with an even BETTER glass system, 3D Maxx South. They have a HUGE list of available options with these windows, I have sold these windows to my customers since 2006 and the feedback from them has been equally positive. The price is competative with other premium windows, value is unbeatable in my opinion.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffJune 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is wonderful to hear our windows helped you create a more comfortable home -- the photos look great!
Customer avatar
MountainCustomCabinetry
From:Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Contractor
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows
Overall rating 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Features 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Appearance 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Value for the Price 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Ease of use 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedMay 27, 2014

Great product

I have had a lot of dealings with suppliers and manufacturers having faulty products, everyone has them. But next to none have the excellent customer service and warranty as Milgard. They were quick on responding to my warranty needs, communicated with me while the replacements were being processed, and scheduled the work to my availability. And their techs were very professional, clean, and got the work done a lot quicker than anticipated. I can say that in the 15 years I have been in construction and maintenance, I have never received customer service that even compares to the excellent service that Milgard gives....
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
Fixer06
From:Winchester, VA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:6-10
Customer Type:Homeowner
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Features 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Appearance 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Value for the Price 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Ease of use 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedApril 17, 2014

Best Windows ever!

We installed new windows and a patio door unit from Milgard in our new home. They are well constructed and look very nice. Most important they are excellent energy savers. That is so important as we live in the Arizona desert. We did receive one of the windows damaged but Milgard sent a replacement immediately. Wonderful windows, wonderful company. Thank you Milgard.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
bjeintucson64
From:Tucson,
Age:65 or over
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:0-5
Customer Type:Homeowner
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Features 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Appearance 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Value for the Price 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Ease of use 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
PostedJanuary 16, 2014

Sound reduction

We purchased new windows to cut down on heat loss and lower noise levels from traffic. The Milgard Ultra windows achieved our purposes. Our home was much cheaper to heat. The noise levels were significantly reduced to a background level that was easily ignored.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffJanuary 20, 2014
Thanks for writing about your experience, we're glad to hear you are enjoying the benefits of your new windows and saving a bit of money too.
Customer avatar
Noboby
From:Downtown, Portland, OR, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Features 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Appearance 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Quality 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Value for the Price 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Ease of use 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
PostedAugust 8, 2013

Great windows with exceptional customer service

Installed 34 windows both sliders and single hung. Looks like I move to a new house. The low E glass is extremely effecient at block out the southern California heat and when these windows are closed they do a great job eliminating outside sounds.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
Abbra
From:Riverside
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:6-10
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Features 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Appearance 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Value for the Price 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Ease of use 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedAugust 28, 2012

Beautiful Window

We bought a home recently that had a tiny 4' wide kitchen window facing a gorgeous view. We opened up that wall and got an 11' wide x 5' high set of Ultra fiberglass windows (2.5' casement + 6' fixed + 2.5' casement, mulled together) right at counter height. It looks beautiful, is a perfect match to the existing Milgard windows, and the price was very fair considering the quality.
What that view adds to our kitchen is priceless. Thank you, Milgard!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
DavidA
From:San Diego, CA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:6-10
Customer Type:Homeowner
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows
Overall rating 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Features 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Appearance 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Quality 
2 out of  5
2 out of  5
Value for the Price 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Ease of use 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
PostedApril 2, 2012

The Ultra Series windows and Patio door have greatly improved the energy efficiency in my home.

The Ultra Series windows and patio door have greatly improved the energy efficiency in my home.These products replaced single glazed aluminum framed windows so there was a noticeble improvemnet in cooling and heating costs as well as improving upon the level of quietness in my home. For the 12 month period post-installation there was almost a 30% decrease in energy consumption in my all electric home.
My only criticism is in the quality of the trim work on the exterior frames. I have a brown-tone exterior frame and white interior. Though the interior finishes only have minor flaws, there are several to be found on the exterior, such as excess glue leakage at the joints which dust sticks to and chipped brown tone paint on several windows and on one window about 1/4' gap on a trim piece.
Overall I am happy with the windows as my goal was to improve upon the comfort level in my home which these windows have accomplished.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
dannyrph
From:Chandler, AZ, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Spanish/Stucco
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Features 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Appearance 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Value for the Price 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Ease of use 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedApril 1, 2012

We love our Milgard Ultra Fiberglas Windows!!!

We are very glad we had Milgard Ultra Fiberglas windows installed a few years ago. They are easy to open, easy to clean, beautiful, insulate well, and we're looking forward to enjoying them for years to come.
The only thing of which I know that I would change is the fuzzy strip on the inside which is white on our white windows and shows grey in places. I'd recommend making that strip medium to dark grey to begin with since it obviously won't be staying white.
My parents also had Milgard Ultra Fiberglas windows installed in their house and are enjoying them, as do we when we visit!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
Sharon2012
From:Spokane Valley, WA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ultra™ Series Fiberglass Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Features 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Appearance 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Value for the Price 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Ease of use 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
PostedMarch 30, 2012

This product function properly all the time.

This product keeps the wind and heat out of the house. They look nices and operates correctly all the time. We can now set in our kitchen without being roasted out by the heat..
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
Jimtad
From:Evergreen, CO 80439, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.