Ultra™ Series Windows

Product Reviews

Milgard Ultra™ Series Windows

The dimensional stability of UltraSeries fiberglass windows make ita popular choice for high humidity and high heat environments such as bathrooms and kitchens.
Overall rating:
3.84 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
17 out of 24(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Ultra™ Series Windows
Review 1 for Ultra™ Series Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
John41
fromSeattle, WA, USA
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
A strong, well made, full featured, quality product.
PostedSeptember 10, 2013
We replaced 31 windows of various types with Milgard Ultra products and have superb noise and harmful ray reduction. They open and shut with the precision of a bank vault and are clearly built to last a very long time. The physical strength was important to our selection and we are well satisfied.
Our house has received numerous compliments regarding both inside and outside appearance.
22 of 43 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultra™ Series Windows
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
MGSUX
fromCalifornia
Hardware color is upgrade
PostedApril 19, 2018
Website states, certain hardware colors are "standard," however ALL except white and clay are "upgrades." So you can choose black frames, but don't expect black hardware...
Review 3 for Ultra™ Series Windows
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for the Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Xamdam
fromAustin
First impression was sloppy workmanship
PostedApril 13, 2018
Sloppy/Poor weatherstripping on the casement windows. One casement frame is cracked and corner miter separating. Paid a lot for fiberglass Ultra line and am disappointed with initial quality.
Response from Milgard Window's & Patio DoorsBy Milgard Social TeamApril 13, 2018
Hello - Thank you for taking the time to tell us about this. Your product should look just the way it did in the showroom when you tried it out. Please call 1-800-Milgard for service under your Full Lifetime Warranty. Thank you.
Review 4 for Ultra™ Series Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
MaestroDirk
State:Washington, WA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:0-5
Customer Type:Homeowner
Wonderful communication, from purchase to delivery
PostedDecember 8, 2017
Suggest a wider (or second) handle on single-hung windows' lower sash, especially for larger units. The current 3' handle barely accommodates my four fingers, and while I'm fit (for an older guy), it's a struggle. By extension, closing the window is equally problematic. As the small handle doesn't lend itself to a downward pull, one must be able to reach the upper rail to lower the window, a motion all the more challenging with a unit requiring one to lean, such as over a 2' deep kitchen counter.
Review 5 for Ultra™ Series Windows
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
twocllcll
State:Washington, WA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Film on window
PostedDecember 2, 2017
I only have one complaint about the windows-there is a film on the window that I can't get off! I've cleaned them 3 times and the installer cleaned them. Not all the windows have this film only a few.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultra™ Series Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WaitTK
State:Washington, WA
Overall I am very satisfied.
PostedDecember 2, 2017
The promised lead time from ordering to delivery was extended twice. My dealer was good about relaying the delay news from the factory. Product was very good; waiting was frustrating.
Review 7 for Ultra™ Series Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ashe
State:California, CA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:51-70
Customer Type:Homeowner
My replacement windows are vinyl
PostedNovember 9, 2017
I couldn't make the changes to my warranty details. Please make that change for me to vinyl windows.
I love the windows. My contractor did a great job installing them in my 60-year-old house.
Review 8 for Ultra™ Series Windows
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
StevenJH
State:California, CA
Customer Type:Homeowner
2 month lead time and damaged
PostedNovember 5, 2017
Received dented/chipped frame and dirty interior glass - unable to clean interior. Showing factory suction cup marks and scratches on the glass inside and out. If it weren't for the project delays - would have sent them back but had to use them unfortunately. Sucks to pay full price for damaged goods.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Milgard Window's & Patio DoorsBy Milgard Social TeamNovember 6, 2017
Hello - I'm so sorry to hear about this. Your windows should look exactly the way the did in the showroom when you selected them. Can you please call 1-800-Milgard to request service for replacements under your Full Lifetime Warranty? Thank you.
Review 9 for Ultra™ Series Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jeffg262
State:Texas, TX
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:51-70
Customer Type:Homeowner
Milgard is the absolute best!
PostedOctober 25, 2017
I just had two sets of Milgard sliders installed in my home. This completes a full Milgard home of windows and doors. Obviously I am a huge fan!!
Review 10 for Ultra™ Series Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Norwichmom
State:Washington, WA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Wonderful Products
PostedOctober 1, 2017
We are in the process of replacing all our outdated windows in the upstairs of our home. The windows are of various sizes and all arrived in perfect working order. The hardware works smoothly and is a big change from the products previously installed. We liked the fact that Milgard had a wide range of window styles to choose from and the tint on the glass actually cooled off the upstairs. A real plus!
Review 11 for Ultra™ Series Windows
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
LarryP
State:California, CA
Ultra wood clad
PostedJuly 9, 2017
Gaps at every corner, some 1/16" wide. Taped them when painting kitchen, paper thin wood veneer peeled off when removing tape.
The main drawback is that Milgard will not sell/ supply any of the veneer to make repairs, nor will they warranty the veneer coming off.
I would be fine if their veneer was available to make repairs. Wish I would have known before spending many thousands of dollars on windows and doors.
Damage the veneer and you have to replace the entire window or door rather than repair.
All the time and $ to uninstall, reinstall, plus the couple thousand dollars for large windows, I strongly suggest to avoid these.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Milgard Window's & Patio DoorsBy Milgard Social TeamJuly 10, 2017
I'm so sorry to hear about what you are going through. The WoodClad Series is a wood veneer product. The Essence Series is a solid wood product. All warranty details are available here: https://www.milgard.com/learn/understanding-your-full-lifetime-warranty/warranty-details I am sorry that we do not have the veneer available to provide to you for after market service support.
Review 12 for Ultra™ Series Windows
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
CloudyMWwindows
State:Kansas, KS
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:6-10
Customer Type:Homeowner
Defective window seals. MW is aware of the issue but finds excuses not to honor so called warranty.
PostedJune 10, 2017
Every window in my house that's 12 years old has defective windows that you cannot see clearly through. They look dirty but have been professionally cleaned & inspected to find every window has defective seals which cause moisure & dirt to get trapped between the panes that cannot be removed without replacing the glass. Their warranty is a joke, good luck getting MW to honor it.
After talking to others in my neighborhood THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH MW BUT THE PROBLEM DOESN'T SHOW ITSELF UNTIL 10 YEARS OR SO!
I will never buy or even consider MW windows in thw future nor will I buy a house that has them installed without a contingency that they be replaced with a brand that honors their warranty and does sell defective windows.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Response from Milgard Window's & Patio DoorsBy Milgard Social TeamJune 20, 2017
I'm so sorry to hear about the frustrating experience you are having. Our Full Lifetime Warranty is for the original owner who purchased the windows. We can provide information for a dealer who could assist you as a 2nd owner. Please let me know if I can help by contacting me at social@milgard.com.
Review 13 for Ultra™ Series Windows
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
LAnneW
State:California, CA
Terrible quality
PostedMarch 1, 2016
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We purchased over $25k of Milgard Ultra series windows and a French door for our home and were disappointed by the extremely poor quality. The assembly of the windows is very poor. The miter corners do not line up. The plastic weatherstripping is uneven. One of the screens arrived bowed. The French door does not line up and the threshold is damaged. See photos taken the day of installation. We are very disappointed and dissatisfied.
12 of 14 found this review helpful.
Response from Milgard Window's & Patio DoorsBy JoannMilgard StaffMarch 7, 2016
Thanks for emailing me with more details. I've contacted customer service and our manufacturing plant to address this issue. Please let us know if this is not resolved to your satisfaction. Thank you.
Review 14 for Ultra™ Series Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mark00Clairemont
State:California, CA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:51-70
Customer Type:Homeowner
Great quality, value, and warranty.
PostedSeptember 26, 2015
My wife and I seriously considered fiberglass windows from both Pella and Milgard. Both offer products of beauty and quality. We had quotes from both providers and Pella was willing to under cut the Milgard quote by 10%. However, Pella would not provide a Lifetime warranty. As warranty is a critical factor in the purchase decision for us, we selected Milgard.
Review 15 for Ultra™ Series Windows
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
CaliforniaHomeOwner
State:California, CA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
WoodClad windows use fake wood
PostedMay 14, 2015
SGK sold me Milgard windows to match the Marvin windows installed by the previous owner. The WoodClad is a joke. It is "wood" is actually contact paper over a vinyl window. The advertising says, "Milgard windows feature furniture-grade, clear, vertical-grain Douglas fir." There is no way the frames are furniture-grade. They also say, "have a beautiful vertical grain Douglas Fir interior that is ready to take your stain or seal coat." Other than paint, you really cannot change the color of coating, as you can with real wood. Clear coating makes the 'wood' look fake.
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Response from Milgard Window's & Patio DoorsBy Milgard StaffAugust 4, 2015
CaliforniaHomeOwner, thank you for your feedback. We apologize you were misinformed about the product. Our WoodClad Series windows feature a wood veneer on the interior for a wood-look.

If you are looking for wood windows, please take a look at the Essence Series, which feature solid wood on the interior. You can find more information here: http://www.milgard.com/windows/essence-series

We strive to provide clear and transparent product information on our website and will be thoroughly double-checking for accuracy. If you have additional questions, please do not hesitate to follow up with us at 1 800 MILGARD.
Review 16 for Ultra™ Series Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jae6and7
fromBoulder, CO
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Craftsman
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Years of use and not a single problem!
PostedOctober 28, 2014
This is the second house I've used Milgard windows in.
In the year 2002, I put Milgard windows in my 7th house, located in Durango, CO. That house is now a rental of mine. Not a single problem with any of them in all that time. There are some sliders, some casements and one awning. They all open, close and lock like new to this day. Interior screens, low-e double paned glass were what drew me to them originally. Some were replacements for insecure, old aluminum windows that were terribly inefficient, had a lot of solar gain in the summer, and many had failing seals. Others were casement and awning styles for the additional rooms created with a remodel, and replacements for the upper floor rooms. What a huge difference they made in sound transmission (so little afterwards) and no more air leakage. The energy bills really dropped for both winter and summer.
When it came time to redo my current personal home in 2011 (which is house #6 for me), I had 4 casement Ultra windows, with low-e triple panes, put into a new addition (my new office) on the 2nd floor, over the living room. Two windows face directly east, one south and one north. They are perfect! I've never had any issues with them at all either. Love that the screens are inside mounted as it makes cleaning the windows so easy. There is virtually no outside noise from the backyard and neighbors anymore, when they are closed, and no solar gain either. The room is very quiet and very comfortable temperature-wise too. With the summer sun shining on them, if you put your hand on the glass, there is very little heat passing through. Keeps the office cool in the summer and warm in the winter.
I also had an awning Ultra window installed on the west side of the house in another new addition I call the nook. It's actually an extension across the hall from my new office space, and is above the front foyer of the house. Currently, the room is used as another office space for my child and has bookshelves too. I also use the nook myself for non-work reading (cookbooks, travel books, art books) and file storage. The awning window faces due west. It's also triple paned low-e, and an inside mounted screen. When I sit at the nook desk, I hear almost no street noise at all, and there's very little solar gain. This nook also stays warm in the winter and cool in the summer, so no air leaking at all.
So, after witnessing the wonderful virtues of the new windows, I decided to change out ALL my other windows on the first floor of the house to the Ultra series. In the basement I went with a different series from Milgard that are side sliders. What a difference they have all made in the noise coming in, the security of my house, and best of all, the energy efficiency. No more drafty rooms! I haven't had any issues with any of them. I still have more to install on the 2nd floor in the bedrooms, but these aren't going in until 2015, due to circumstances that prevented me from changing all of them earlier.
I've had family members, some friends and many neighbors came over to see my whole house remodeling since I started it in 2011. They always notice how comfortable it is inside, and how quiet my house is too. I tell them it's the windows! It's why I chose these. Two sets of friends, one family member, and 3 neighbors have now switched out their old drafty windows to Milgard Ultras too. They have all said they too were very happy with the results.
In general, fiberglass window frames have fewer problems than any other style of window I've ever lived with. They are far less likely to react to exterior and/or interior environmental changes. And, by the way, I've lived in no less than 16 different homes and apartments in my lifetime. I think some other people here maybe have issues for various reason. Often it's the fault of the installer, and not the windows themselves. They might have soil movement and/or house shifting issues, or more humidity where they live, which can make a big difference in performance too.
When I start building my next house in 3 years, a straw bale one, I'm going to use Milgard Fiberglass windows again, and likely their doors too.
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultra™ Series Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MountainCustomCabinetry
fromScottsdale, AZ, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Contractor
Great windows
PostedJune 26, 2014
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I am a contractor in Arizona. When I went looking for windows for my own home I did alot of research about windows for a hot climate. Milgard Ultra came out on top. I installed twelve casement windows 8 years ago and have been exceptionally pleased with them. The 3D glass system is amazing, our home is radically more comfortable in the summer. We live on a busy street and the traffic noise reduction is probably 90% over our old aluminum sliders. The white fiberglass frames show little to no signs of aging after 8 years in full desert sun. The operating mechanisms have had no issues and the windows still operate fine. I have had only two minor issues with these windows; the screens have sliding retaining pins in the four corners, but they are a pain to install because the pins don't line up well with the window and the pins get sticky and won't slide. I believe the newer window screens have a better retaining system. The only service issue I have had in eight years was with the outermost weather stripping. It is exposed to the elements, and the original product failed ( became sticky, decomposed and retained dirt). I contacted Milgard and they came out and replaced all of it, no problem. Lifetime Warranty!!
I highly recomend these windows, my only regret is that soon after I purchased them Milgard came out with an even BETTER glass system, 3D Maxx South. They have a HUGE list of available options with these windows, I have sold these windows to my customers since 2006 and the feedback from them has been equally positive. The price is competative with other premium windows, value is unbeatable in my opinion.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Milgard Window's & Patio DoorsBy Milgard StaffJune 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is wonderful to hear our windows helped you create a more comfortable home -- the photos look great!
Review 18 for Ultra™ Series Windows
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fixer06
fromWinchester, VA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:6-10
Customer Type:Homeowner
Great product
PostedMay 27, 2014
I have had a lot of dealings with suppliers and manufacturers having faulty products, everyone has them. But next to none have the excellent customer service and warranty as Milgard. They were quick on responding to my warranty needs, communicated with me while the replacements were being processed, and scheduled the work to my availability. And their techs were very professional, clean, and got the work done a lot quicker than anticipated. I can say that in the 15 years I have been in construction and maintenance, I have never received customer service that even compares to the excellent service that Milgard gives....
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultra™ Series Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bjeintucson64
fromTucson,
Age:65 or over
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:0-5
Customer Type:Homeowner
Best Windows ever!
PostedApril 17, 2014
We installed new windows and a patio door unit from Milgard in our new home. They are well constructed and look very nice. Most important they are excellent energy savers. That is so important as we live in the Arizona desert. We did receive one of the windows damaged but Milgard sent a replacement immediately. Wonderful windows, wonderful company. Thank you Milgard.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultra™ Series Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Noboby
fromDowntown, Portland, OR, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Sound reduction
PostedJanuary 16, 2014
We purchased new windows to cut down on heat loss and lower noise levels from traffic. The Milgard Ultra windows achieved our purposes. Our home was much cheaper to heat. The noise levels were significantly reduced to a background level that was easily ignored.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Milgard Window's & Patio DoorsBy Milgard StaffJanuary 20, 2014
Thanks for writing about your experience, we're glad to hear you are enjoying the benefits of your new windows and saving a bit of money too.