Aluminum Windows

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Milgard Window's & Patio Doors.

Milgard Aluminum Windows

Extremely popular with architects aluminum windows help accentuate the clean lines of modern design. Aluminum Series windows are not only beautiful they are extremely durable to achieve unique architectural vision. Choose among four versatile colors including Clear Anodized and Bronze Anodized frames.
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
18 out of 29(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Aluminum Windows
Review 1 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
DanielB12
fromTemple, Texas
Horrible Lead Time........
PostedMay 4, 2018
So I only ordered 11 windows on April 11 2018 from Tri-Supply in Temple (Very Good Customer Service) and there was a 4 week lead time to receive the windows. It is 5-4-2018 which is less than a week away from the original 4 week lead time and now Milgard has told Tri-Supply that my windows will not ship out until June 8th!!! Unacceptable... I am building my home myself and cannot begin erecting the building until these 11 windows are delivered. I have a loan for this build in which now I am losing over 2 months off of my 9 month timeline that I have on this loan for construction. I would appreciate it if Milgard Management would contact me as I am spending $4600.00 on just 11 windows. This is completely UNACCEPTABLE..
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Milgard Window's & Patio DoorsBy Milgard Social TeamMay 4, 2018
Hello - I'm so sorry to hear about the delay. If you can email me at social@milgard.com, I can get more information from you about your order and find out if it can be rushed. Thank you.
Review 2 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kit3
fromBeaverton, OR
Lifetime Warranty for Real!!!
PostedApril 4, 2018
MILGARD replaced 10 panels of glass that were 25 years old, May of 2018. We are the original owners & still in shock, that MILGARD actually stands behind their “Full Lifetime Warranty.” And they will continue to honor the warranty as long as we own our home. I have never experienced anything like this, ever, without a glitch of somekind. All they asked is that the windows were clean to verify the double pain seals were blown. I had the windows cleaned the same day Milgard came by. And that was it! It could not have gone smoother. Still amazed!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for the Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Jon123
State:Washington, WA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Weak quality control, Insulting delivery.
PostedNovember 18, 2017
Considering the cost of the windows I thought they were less than average on quality and finish. One of the four windows had no temporary shipping fixture attached to the nailing flange and all required work to straighten the flange and remove excess sealant before installation.
Delivery was a joke – the two young and healthy Milgard employees that brought my windows said they “don’t do stairs” and left my windows leaning against the fence on the street.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Milgard Window's & Patio DoorsBy Milgard Social TeamNovember 20, 2017
Hello - thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We are always looking for ways to improve. If you can email me at social@milgard.com so I can learn more, that would be helpful. Thank you.
Review 4 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CRK67
State:California, CA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:11-20
Customer Type:Homeowner
Great Window
PostedNovember 16, 2017
Good instructions for install. Window matches other windows that were installed 1996
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JimmyPisces
State:California, CA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Spanish/Stucco
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
The 11 windows are beautiful.
PostedNovember 14, 2017
I caught the error that the exterior frames of the the white windows for outside should have been bronze because all other windows were bronze. The interior frames of the white windows for bathrooms looked great.
Review 6 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrGeorge
State:Texas, TX
Very satisfied
PostedNovember 7, 2017
Houston Window Experts did the installation and did a very professional job. All employees were knowledgeable of what to do and very polite.
Thank you guys.
George Williams
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
SHeriKing
State:California, CA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Craftsman
Age Home:11-20
Customer Type:Homeowner
Horrible fogging in most of my windows
PostedJune 26, 2017
I don't expect this review to stay up, however I will keep writing to warn others about these windows. We bought a 4 year old home that had never even been lived in. Original owner was trying to flip it. We noticed fogginess in about 3 windows, but it wasn't a huge deal. Over the next 4 years, over half of our windows developed severe fog, streaks, and handprints between the glass. Our neighbors had most of their windows fixed, but we were told since we weren't the original owner, no lifetime warranty for us. My house looks like a murder scene with streaky handprints coming down the windows. DO NOT BUY THESE JUNK WINDOWS if you ever plan to sell your home! It is not going to be cheap to have the glass replaced in 19 windows.
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Response from Milgard Window's & Patio DoorsBy Milgard Social TeamJune 27, 2017
I'm so sorry to hear about what you've been going through. The Full Lifetime Warranty is for the original purchaser of the windows and it covers any defects in materials or workmanship. I can connect you with a window dealer to provide options for 2nd owners if that would be helpful. Just email me at social@milgard.com. Thank you.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byLongtime Milgard User
California
Question regarding 2nd owners and Warranty--
onJuly 5, 2017
In your reply you state the warranty extends to the original purchaser. As a contractor ( and not related to this specifc poster or this situation at all ) I am purchasing your product in good faith and relying on your warranty as a selling point to my customers. According to your answer to this question I understand why he may not have a warranty but in the same situation in which I build a house - I buy your windows - the window fails then - I then am hired or called to resolve the problem by said owner - I file a warranty claim - and by your explanation given since I was technically the original purchaser the product warranty will be applied ...correct? So in this case If the 2nd owners were to have had the original contractor ( the original purchaser) do the replacement of failing windows the warranty would be extended?
Am I understanding the answer you supplied to this question correctly? Note the warranty claim that I would be presenting in this type of situation would include my original invoice and proof of payment I made for the windows. I understand other determining factors may exist and I would like your clarification which can be posted here or sent to me directly at my email provided in the information requested to post here, Thanks !!
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JoeyB
State:Idaho, ID
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Craftsman
Age Home:11-20
Customer Type:Homeowner
Failing dual-pane windows
PostedJune 22, 2017
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We purchased our home in 2011. It was built in 2002. So far we've replaced 3 large picture windows at about $1,000.00 each. We have four more large windows that are now failing. I read about the warranty online but it doesn't apply to us because we are not the original purchaser of the windows. I am so frustrated. I didn't expect to have to replace all the windows in this house. I will not be replacing them with Milgard.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from Milgard Window's & Patio DoorsBy Milgard Social TeamJune 23, 2017
I'm so sorry to hear about this. The Full Lifetime Warranty is for the original owner who made the purchase. We can connect you with a dealer to assist you with chargeable options if you need assistance. Call 1-800-Milgard for help or email us at social@milgard.com. Thank you.
Review 9 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SunnyandDaisy
State:California, CA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Windows look good and insulate well
PostedJune 4, 2017
These are replacement windows and sliding glass doors for a 40-year-old desert home. The originals were single pane glass in bronze aluminum frames and we wanted better insulation but with the look of the original windows. These have thermally broken (insulated) aluminum frames, so the frames are fairly thin and don't have the cheesy look of retrofit vinyl. Our A.C. system is running less often and the windows look great. It was well worth it to break out the stucco to install new, rather than retrofit windows. We're very happy.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
BarnBoy
State:California, CA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Craftsman
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Plastic Screen Tabs are Junk!
PostedMarch 14, 2017
I installed seven Milgard windows in a recent construction project. Within just a couple of months after being installed, all the plastic tabs that secure the screen to the window started breaking and the screens started falling out. They used very cheep plastic in the manufacturing of the screen holder tabs. JUNK!
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quido
State:Oregon, OR
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Vitaliy, repair tech
PostedOctober 17, 2016
Vitaliy, just completed some repairs at my home. We have owned the home for 26 years and we occasionally need windows replaced. arrived on time, and when I pointed out an additional problem, jumped right on on it and fixed the problem. Great customer service, great tech, very happy.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JEDI
State:Washington, WA
style & design over performance
PostedSeptember 30, 2016
We really enjoy our new windows. We were more interested in a specific look for our home. The clear anodized aluminum made the vison come to a reality.
The thermally improved aluminum windows have made a big difference in our homes look and energy performance.
Regrettably the U-factor does not qualify for rebates by 0.01, such a small amount. But as far as comfort goes or energy loss there will be no noticeable difference ... ever!
Great windows and easy to work with.
Thanks Milgard!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
bakerette
State:California, CA
Pretty looking window with excessive wear
PostedAugust 11, 2016
In September 2015, I replaced all my windows and sliders with Milgard Aluminum windows in an Anodized Bronze finish. Initially I loved the windows. They look great in my modern house and seemed to operate fairly well. The rotating latches that hold the screens in place are not extremely durable but that was a minor issue. However, my opinion changed within a few months. On multiple windows the black 'paint' on the hinge began to chip. It seemed to get worse as we began opening and closing the window during spring. This issue will not be covered under warranty. I am pretty disappointed that these windows are looking so rough less than a year after installation. So while I love the look of the windows, I would not recommend them to others due to the excessive wear and tear within a short period of time.
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Response from Milgard Window's & Patio DoorsBy Milgard StaffOctober 18, 2016
We're sorry to hear that this happened. We are always looking for ways to improve and we will provide your feedback to the product team to look for a solution. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about this issue.
Review 14 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Winslow99
State:Colorado, CO
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Craftsman
Age Home:11-20
Customer Type:Homeowner
Poor quality and worthless warranty
PostedMay 18, 2016
I live here in Colorado where the wind blows hard in the springtime coupled with rain in sheets. These windows do not hold up and leak after a few years of use. Clearly disappointed with the quality of these windows. I have three windows fog up and you can barely see outside of them. Try another brand…
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Response from Milgard Window's & Patio DoorsBy Milgard StaffMay 20, 2016
We are so sorry to hear about this. Can we schedule a service call for you to get the windows repaired? Please call 1-800-Milgard or email social@milgard.com for help.
Review 15 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gary12
State:Washington, WA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
EXCELLENT product and service!
PostedAugust 12, 2015
We absolutely LOVE our 17 Milgard windows. Now, we LOVE Milgard's warrantry service, too. We had some sliding hardware replaced on one of our 17 windows. No problem, Milgard's technician took care of the replacement in a professional manner.
Why did we ever wait so long to replace our aluminum frame windows?
They look WONDERFUL and function perfectly. Milgard provides excellent value for every dollar spent. Actually, I don't understand how Milgard provides such an excellent product for the price.
If I knew how good Milgard windows were earlier, I would have replaced our original windows 20 years ago.
Milgard, keep doing what you're doing!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
johncp
State:California, CA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Nice window that works well.
PostedJuly 23, 2015
Nice looking window that was easy to install and matched the other windows perfectly. The only thing is it slides open better than all the old windows. Solid buy.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
BobSnoqualmie
State:Washington, WA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:11-20
Customer Type:Homeowner
Interior Moisture Problems
PostedJuly 15, 2015
Our Milgard windows will need to be replaced sooner than I would normally believe is needed usually.
Nearly half of the Milgard windows in our home show signs of moisture collection inside the two panes. Looks as if it is raining on cloudless days. Previous homes w/o Milgard never exhibited this problem with similar two-layer panes of similar age and environment. I believe Milgard has fundamental quality issue.
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Response from Milgard Window's & Patio DoorsBy Milgard StaffJuly 22, 2015
BobSnoqualmie, thanks for sharing your feedback. It sounds like you may have a failed insulating unit. We apologize this happened. If you are the original homeowner, you may be covered under our Full Lifetime Warranty. We would be happy to come out and complete the service at a time that works for you. Please get in touch via the online service request form: http://www.milgard.com/form/service-request

We will also make note of this to discuss with our product design team for future improvement.
Review 18 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
madnpismo
fromPismo Beach, CA, USA
Gardenaire window is junk
PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Had the panes replaced twice since 2003 & they are leaking again. Now they will not do anything about it. Will never buy Milgard again. When we remodel the kitchen, will rip it out & buy a different brand.
10 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CeeGull
fromSan Diego
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Spanish/Stucco
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Replacement windows
PostedJune 30, 2014
We did our entire house using a number of sizes and features, both horizontal and vertical sliders and patio doors. Most were fully upgraded with sun-coat and argon, etc. and there is no doubt they have significantly lowered our heating and cooling costs. They operate very easily except for one stubborn vertical window that periodically misaligns and needs repair. We went with the dark finish to preserve the Craftsman style of the house and for the most part we are satisfied with the look, except on the narrow side windows right in front of the house. We think the window frame covering is just too wide in proportion, but there is no way to adjust it. We think these windows could be made better, offer more adjustability in terms of where they lock, and how they look, and we wonder why Milgard does not offer an insulated version. These were soooo close to qualifying for the tax deduction (and in other states besides CA, they could have!), just a little extra insulation could have made a difference. Nevertheless, if you don't care for vinyl and do not want to maintain wood, this is your only affordable choice.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mustang64
fromManhattan Beach, CA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Great Looking and Efficient
PostedJune 16, 2014
We replaced existing windows (retro-fit) that were falling apart and some were not operable. We are very pleased with our new Milgard Aluminum windows. They operate with ease and block out most of the street noise. We live in a city and off of a boulevard. The look is very sleek as our townhouse is contemporary. We couldn't be more pleased with our choice.
4 of 13 found this review helpful.
Response from Milgard Window's & Patio DoorsBy Milgard StaffJune 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. Sounds like the new windows helped make your townhouse more comfortable --- we're glad to hear it!