Customer reviews for Milgard Aluminum Windows

Aluminum Windows
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Milgard.

Milgard Aluminum Windows

Extremely popular with architects aluminum windows help accentuate the clean lines of modern design. Aluminum Series windows are not only beautiful they are extremely durable to achieve unique architectural vision. Choose among four versatile colors including Clear Anodized and Bronze Anodized frames.
Overall rating:
3.625 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(24 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
5
14

 out

of 
23(61%)
recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Aluminum Windows
Review 1 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Features 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Appearance 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Quality 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Value for the Price 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Ease of use 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
PostedJune 26, 2017

Horrible fogging in most of my windows

I don't expect this review to stay up, however I will keep writing to warn others about these windows. We bought a 4 year old home that had never even been lived in. Original owner was trying to flip it. We noticed fogginess in about 3 windows, but it wasn't a huge deal. Over the next 4 years, over half of our windows developed severe fog, streaks, and handprints between the glass. Our neighbors had most of their windows fixed, but we were told since we weren't the original owner, no lifetime warranty for us. My house looks like a murder scene with streaky handprints coming down the windows. DO NOT BUY THESE JUNK WINDOWS if you ever plan to sell your home! It is not going to be cheap to have the glass replaced in 19 windows.
Zip Code92127
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard Social TeamJune 27, 2017
I'm so sorry to hear about what you've been going through. The Full Lifetime Warranty is for the original purchaser of the windows and it covers any defects in materials or workmanship. I can connect you with a window dealer to provide options for 2nd owners if that would be helpful. Just email me at social@milgard.com. Thank you.
Customer avatar
SHeriKing
State:California, CA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Craftsman
Age Home:11-20
Customer Type:Homeowner
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byLongtime Milgard User
California
Question regarding 2nd owners and Warranty--
onJuly 5, 2017
In your reply you state the warranty extends to the original purchaser. As a contractor ( and not related to this specifc poster or this situation at all ) I am purchasing your product in good faith and relying on your warranty as a selling point to my customers. According to your answer to this question I understand why he may not have a warranty but in the same situation in which I build a house - I buy your windows - the window fails then - I then am hired or called to resolve the problem by said owner - I file a warranty claim - and by your explanation given since I was technically the original purchaser the product warranty will be applied ...correct? So in this case If the 2nd owners were to have had the original contractor ( the original purchaser) do the replacement of failing windows the warranty would be extended?
Am I understanding the answer you supplied to this question correctly? Note the warranty claim that I would be presenting in this type of situation would include my original invoice and proof of payment I made for the windows. I understand other determining factors may exist and I would like your clarification which can be posted here or sent to me directly at my email provided in the information requested to post here, Thanks !!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Features 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Appearance 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Quality 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Value for the Price 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Ease of use 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedJune 22, 2017

Failing dual-pane windows

We purchased our home in 2011. It was built in 2002. So far we've replaced 3 large picture windows at about $1,000.00 each. We have four more large windows that are now failing. I read about the warranty online but it doesn't apply to us because we are not the original purchaser of the windows. I am so frustrated. I didn't expect to have to replace all the windows in this house. I will not be replacing them with Milgard.
Zip Code83833
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard Social TeamJune 23, 2017
I'm so sorry to hear about this. The Full Lifetime Warranty is for the original owner who made the purchase. We can connect you with a dealer to assist you with chargeable options if you need assistance. Call 1-800-Milgard for help or email us at social@milgard.com. Thank you.
Customer avatar
JoeyB
State:Idaho, ID
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Craftsman
Age Home:11-20
Customer Type:Homeowner
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Features 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Appearance 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Value for the Price 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Ease of use 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
PostedJune 4, 2017

Windows look good and insulate well

These are replacement windows and sliding glass doors for a 40-year-old desert home. The originals were single pane glass in bronze aluminum frames and we wanted better insulation but with the look of the original windows. These have thermally broken (insulated) aluminum frames, so the frames are fairly thin and don't have the cheesy look of retrofit vinyl. Our A.C. system is running less often and the windows look great. It was well worth it to break out the stucco to install new, rather than retrofit windows. We're very happy.
Zip Code92264
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
SunnyandDaisy
State:California, CA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
2 out of  5
2 out of  5
Features 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Appearance 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Quality 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Value for the Price 
2 out of  5
2 out of  5
Ease of use 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
PostedMarch 14, 2017

Plastic Screen Tabs are Junk!

I installed seven Milgard windows in a recent construction project. Within just a couple of months after being installed, all the plastic tabs that secure the screen to the window started breaking and the screens started falling out. They used very cheep plastic in the manufacturing of the screen holder tabs. JUNK!
Zip Code93446
No, I do not recommend this product.
Customer avatar
BarnBoy
State:California, CA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Craftsman
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedOctober 17, 2016

Vitaliy, repair tech

Vitaliy, just completed some repairs at my home. We have owned the home for 26 years and we occasionally need windows replaced. arrived on time, and when I pointed out an additional problem, jumped right on on it and fixed the problem. Great customer service, great tech, very happy.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
Quido
State:Oregon, OR
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Features 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Appearance 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Value for the Price 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Ease of use 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedSeptember 30, 2016

style & design over performance

We really enjoy our new windows. We were more interested in a specific look for our home. The clear anodized aluminum made the vison come to a reality.
The thermally improved aluminum windows have made a big difference in our homes look and energy performance.
Regrettably the U-factor does not qualify for rebates by 0.01, such a small amount. But as far as comfort goes or energy loss there will be no noticeable difference ... ever!
Great windows and easy to work with.
Thanks Milgard!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
JEDI
State:Washington, WA
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
2 out of  5
2 out of  5
Features 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Appearance 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Quality 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Value for the Price 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Ease of use 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
PostedAugust 11, 2016

Pretty looking window with excessive wear

In September 2015, I replaced all my windows and sliders with Milgard Aluminum windows in an Anodized Bronze finish. Initially I loved the windows. They look great in my modern house and seemed to operate fairly well. The rotating latches that hold the screens in place are not extremely durable but that was a minor issue. However, my opinion changed within a few months. On multiple windows the black 'paint' on the hinge began to chip. It seemed to get worse as we began opening and closing the window during spring. This issue will not be covered under warranty. I am pretty disappointed that these windows are looking so rough less than a year after installation. So while I love the look of the windows, I would not recommend them to others due to the excessive wear and tear within a short period of time.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffOctober 18, 2016
We're sorry to hear that this happened. We are always looking for ways to improve and we will provide your feedback to the product team to look for a solution. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about this issue.
Customer avatar
bakerette
State:California, CA
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Features 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Appearance 
2 out of  5
2 out of  5
Quality 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Value for the Price 
2 out of  5
2 out of  5
Ease of use 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
PostedMay 18, 2016

Poor quality and worthless warranty

I live here in Colorado where the wind blows hard in the springtime coupled with rain in sheets. These windows do not hold up and leak after a few years of use. Clearly disappointed with the quality of these windows. I have three windows fog up and you can barely see outside of them. Try another brand…
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffMay 20, 2016
We are so sorry to hear about this. Can we schedule a service call for you to get the windows repaired? Please call 1-800-Milgard or email social@milgard.com for help.
Customer avatar
Winslow99
State:Colorado, CO
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Craftsman
Age Home:11-20
Customer Type:Homeowner
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Customer service 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Professionalism 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedAugust 12, 2015

EXCELLENT product and service!

We absolutely LOVE our 17 Milgard windows. Now, we LOVE Milgard's warrantry service, too. We had some sliding hardware replaced on one of our 17 windows. No problem, Milgard's technician took care of the replacement in a professional manner.
Why did we ever wait so long to replace our aluminum frame windows?
They look WONDERFUL and function perfectly. Milgard provides excellent value for every dollar spent. Actually, I don't understand how Milgard provides such an excellent product for the price.
If I knew how good Milgard windows were earlier, I would have replaced our original windows 20 years ago.
Milgard, keep doing what you're doing!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
Gary12
State:Washington, WA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedJuly 23, 2015

Nice window that works well.

Nice looking window that was easy to install and matched the other windows perfectly. The only thing is it slides open better than all the old windows. Solid buy.
Customer avatar
johncp
State:California, CA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Features 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Appearance 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Quality 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Value for the Price 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Ease of use 
2 out of  5
2 out of  5
PostedJuly 15, 2015

Interior Moisture Problems

Our Milgard windows will need to be replaced sooner than I would normally believe is needed usually.
Nearly half of the Milgard windows in our home show signs of moisture collection inside the two panes. Looks as if it is raining on cloudless days. Previous homes w/o Milgard never exhibited this problem with similar two-layer panes of similar age and environment. I believe Milgard has fundamental quality issue.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffJuly 22, 2015
BobSnoqualmie, thanks for sharing your feedback. It sounds like you may have a failed insulating unit. We apologize this happened. If you are the original homeowner, you may be covered under our Full Lifetime Warranty. We would be happy to come out and complete the service at a time that works for you. Please get in touch via the online service request form: http://www.milgard.com/form/service...

We will also make note of this to discuss with our product design team for future improvement.
Customer avatar
BobSnoqualmie
State:Washington, WA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:11-20
Customer Type:Homeowner
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Features 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Appearance 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Quality 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Value for the Price 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Ease of use 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
PostedFebruary 18, 2015

Gardenaire window is junk

Had the panes replaced twice since 2003 & they are leaking again. Now they will not do anything about it. Will never buy Milgard again. When we remodel the kitchen, will rip it out & buy a different brand.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Customer avatar
madnpismo
From:Pismo Beach, CA, USA
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Features 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Appearance 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Quality 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Value for the Price 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Ease of use 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedJune 30, 2014

Replacement windows

We did our entire house using a number of sizes and features, both horizontal and vertical sliders and patio doors. Most were fully upgraded with sun-coat and argon, etc. and there is no doubt they have significantly lowered our heating and cooling costs. They operate very easily except for one stubborn vertical window that periodically misaligns and needs repair. We went with the dark finish to preserve the Craftsman style of the house and for the most part we are satisfied with the look, except on the narrow side windows right in front of the house. We think the window frame covering is just too wide in proportion, but there is no way to adjust it. We think these windows could be made better, offer more adjustability in terms of where they lock, and how they look, and we wonder why Milgard does not offer an insulated version. These were soooo close to qualifying for the tax deduction (and in other states besides CA, they could have!), just a little extra insulation could have made a difference. Nevertheless, if you don't care for vinyl and do not want to maintain wood, this is your only affordable choice.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
Ceegull
From:San Diego
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Spanish/Stucco
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Features 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Appearance 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Value for the Price 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Ease of use 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedJune 16, 2014

Great Looking and Efficient

We replaced existing windows (retro-fit) that were falling apart and some were not operable. We are very pleased with our new Milgard Aluminum windows. They operate with ease and block out most of the street noise. We live in a city and off of a boulevard. The look is very sleek as our townhouse is contemporary. We couldn't be more pleased with our choice.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffJune 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. Sounds like the new windows helped make your townhouse more comfortable --- we're glad to hear it!
Customer avatar
mustang64
From:Manhattan Beach, CA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Features 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Appearance 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Quality 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Value for the Price 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Ease of use 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
PostedApril 14, 2014

You can't beat their warranty service

We have had Milgard replacement windows for so long I can't remember when they were installed. We requested and had warranty service performed a few times in the last couple of years.
Milgard is on company that stands behind their warranty with fast and excellent service.
The service tech was on time and did the job professionally.
I would not hesitate to buy Milgard products again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffApril 14, 2014
We truly appreciate your business and happy to hear you are satisfied with both our products and service. Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback.
Customer avatar
5outta6
From:Novato, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:51-70
Customer Type:Homeowner
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Features 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Appearance 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Value for the Price 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Ease of use 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedApril 10, 2014

Love the work

Very happy after 5 years too Very happy after 5 years too Very happy after 5 years too Very happy after 5 years too Very happy after 5 years too
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
Homeowner310
From:El Monte
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Cape Cod
Age Home:51-70
Customer Type:Homeowner
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Features 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Appearance 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Quality 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Value for the Price 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Ease of use 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
PostedMarch 28, 2014

Lifetime Warranty

We have Milgard windows installed in 1990. Recently submitted a request for service. Although it took awhile to coordinate our schedules, the service representatives were on time and professional. I usually think lifetime warranties are pretty useless as most companies go out of business or find a way to not honor them. Milgard is clearly the exception.
Milgard windows are a good quality window for the price. With the real warranty and service support being the added value.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
mauleace
From:Petaluma
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Features 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Appearance 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Quality 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Value for the Price 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Ease of use 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
PostedMarch 6, 2014

I do not recommend products

The first rain we had the windows leaked at the top and the weep
holes were full of aluminum shavings that clogged the weep holes.
not good
No, I do not recommend this product.
Customer avatar
RGO1
From:West Hollywood, ca
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:21-30
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
2 out of  5
2 out of  5
Features 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Appearance 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Quality 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Value for the Price 
2 out of  5
2 out of  5
Ease of use 
2 out of  5
2 out of  5
PostedNovember 14, 2013

Windows failing at year 10

My home was purchased in 2010 just 10 years after it was new. The living room picture window seal was falling as was the hinged master window. A decade of use is not an acceptable time period for windows.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Customer avatar
RM98144
From:Seattle
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aluminum Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Features 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Appearance 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Value for the Price 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Ease of use 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedSeptember 10, 2013

Great windows, fantastic value

I have been putting these windows in for years, and they are great and a super value. Milgard ships quickly. One window was broken on the truck, and I had to fight to get them out to repair the broken glass. Their warranty dept. used to be fantastic, but now it is a battle to get them to fix anything.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
Pete12
From:San Diego, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 See more>>