Essence Series® Windows

Product Reviews

Milgard Essence Series® Windows

Wood has always been praised for its beauty and natural insulating properties inside the home--but presented real challenges in terms of durability on the exterior. With Essence Series Milgard combines the best of both worlds. A durable fiberglass exterior stands strong to protect a solid wood interior against the elements for lasting beauty and exceptional performance.Powder coat color options vary for radius windows.
Overall rating:
3.857 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
32 out of 46(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Essence Series® Windows
Review 1 for Essence Series® Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bchap
State:Washington, WA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
The windows are beautiful.
PostedJanuary 26, 2018
Our new Milgard windows are beautiful inside & out. They give our French/traditional style home a fresh updated look. We went from all wood windows, that had white grids, and that had become worn & warped to the Essence Series fiberglass clad wood -without grids. We love the clean look & great ‘views’. Also, looking forward to years of low maintenance-no need to paint exteriors.
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Essence Series® Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
desi
fromHope, BC, Canada
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Outside protection, beautiful inside
PostedFebruary 4, 2013
We are happy to let you know that we are pleased with our new windows.
The old windows were far past their prime, especially the outside wood. The fibreglass exterior looks great and the inside wood is beautiful.
The new windows make the house more pleasant in terms of temperature and no worries about colour fading.
Bert and Connie
16 of 32 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Essence Series® Windows
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Blukat
fromLos Angeles
Essence in my guesthouse
PostedJune 8, 2018
I really like my Essence windows. We built a new guesthouse and used awning, casement, double-hung windows of different sizes. I feel that the windows are secure to break-ins, but also provide the air-flow and circulation that I need. When I work on house repairs next, I plan to buy more Essence products for the house..
Review 4 for Essence Series® Windows
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Never Milgard
fromMontrose, CO
18 cracked or defective sashes. All screens bad.
PostedMay 31, 2018
10 months ago, I purchased around $40,000 worth of essence windows for an 1895 restoration. There were so many problems that the local representative for Western Colorado came out and we examined every window, documenting what needed to be done. At least 18 sashes need replaced and he said he was at a loss as to why so many were cracked. Every screen (I upgraded) was defective. He sent a picture of the work sheet listing all the issue to his office and told me it was already in the system. I registered the warranty and waited. I had read that service was bad and some people waited several months so I was trying to be patient. Nine months later, the rep flippantly tells me it was misplaced and to contact Milgard for service. I responded that I didn't think that was acceptable and then he said it wasn't misplaced, it was a software issue and my best recourse was still to contact Milgard but if I gave him my address, he'd see if it was in the system. I'm not making this up. He came to my house but doesn't have the address. If it was in the system, why have I heard nothing for 9 months??? Seriously, NEVER purchase anything from this company and especially not in Western Colorado.
Review 5 for Essence Series® Windows
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
SNel
fromWA
Poor Customer Service
PostedMay 17, 2018
Getting service after purchase is terrible stay away
Response from Milgard Window's & Patio DoorsBy Milgard Social TeamMay 17, 2018
Hello - I'm so sorry to hear that you did not have a good customer service experience. We've always taken great pride in supporting our customers and we also like to learn and improve. Can you please email me at social@milgard.com so I can get more information that we can use to coach our team? Thank you.
Review 6 for Essence Series® Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KeithofShoreline
fromWA
Good windows,some issues with exterior frame color
PostedMay 11, 2018
All 3 huge windows look and work great. I wish the exterior color matches better with samples shown on their sale brochures. I ordered the sand color but it came more like off-white.
Review 7 for Essence Series® Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Brutus
fromAstoria Oregon
love the white interior and black exterior.
PostedApril 12, 2018
Window was installed last week and it still works.
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Essence Series® Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GOWC
State:California, CA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:51-70
Customer Type:Homeowner
Service call
PostedMarch 22, 2018
Two of our existing windows needed to be replaced. Your service technician is excellent. He came the first time to remeasure the two windows. Today he came to install the two replacement windows. He is very professional and competent. It was a pleasure to have this service call. Thank you.G
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Essence Series® Windows
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
ErinS1
State:Colorado, CO
STAY AWAY
PostedMarch 15, 2018
We just installed 28 windows with Milgard essence series (fiberglass exterior with wood interior). Counting the double-hung, casement and slider sashes separately we had 47 sashes. Last Wednesday it was discovered that 27 of these sashes have twisted or bowed seals that need to be replaced (and then re-painted). This on top of the fact that 2 windows came with missing parts (we were told it will take over a month to receive the parts), and one cracked while drying from being painted on a table. Beyond this, the exterior framing on one is detached. And they are NOT as sound resistant as our last windows - we hear traffic non-stop now that we never heard before. That makes us wonder about their true ability to insulate against the heat and cold.
So we discovered this warped seal issue on Wednesday. The Milgard rep came to view the issues on Thursday and now four business days later has issued no apology or plan for getting things fixed! All they have told our installer is the following: while they tell you the argon gas means something important (both in insulation quality and price) argon doesn’t stay in the windows, and at altitude (we are in CO) it has been know to push out the seals of the windows when traveling from lower altitudes to higher ones. He said our installer PINNACLE should have never been able to order windows with argon (I’d like to know then, who at Milgard looked over this order and what discount I’m going to get for windows that don’t meet the quality standards of what I purchased?!)
We paid for quality windows with fiberglass exterior and wood interior and we have been sold horrible product with horrible customer service that I’m sure I’ll regret for the rest of our years in this house. STAY AWAY!
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Response from Milgard Window's & Patio DoorsBy Milgard Social TeamMarch 15, 2018
Hello - Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. I'm so sorry to hear about all the trouble you are going through. We take all customer feedback very seriously. Can you please email me at social@milgard.com so I can get your contact info and help? Thank you.
Review 10 for Essence Series® Windows
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vanessa61
State:California, CA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:0-5
Customer Type:Homeowner
Disappointed
PostedFebruary 15, 2018
These weren't cheap windows & for some reason I expected to get what we paid for, beautiful windows. Besides having issues with a dozen or so, the screens look horrible....They don't lay flat due to the little plastic buttons added to lock them in place, which causes the screens to stick out where every single button is. Have been waiting for months for Milgard to come out to fix all the other issues we've had with the actual windows...maybe next week? (they've already canceled on us once) I'm hoping once the house is completed that the overall look of the house won't be ruined by the look of the windows.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Milgard Window's & Patio DoorsBy Milgard Social TeamFebruary 15, 2018
Hello - thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. The windows should look just the way they did in the showroom. Please email me for assistance if all issues are not resolved after your service appointment. Thank you. social@milgard.com
Review 11 for Essence Series® Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gabrielpoon18
State:California, CA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Nice Windows
PostedFebruary 9, 2018
Good looking and nice, I will recommend to all my friends and relatives to use them
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Essence Series® Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Striker
State:Oregon, OR
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Craftsman
Customer Type:Homeowner
Well crafted product
PostedJanuary 9, 2018
We are more than pleased with our new windows. They are well constructed and they exceeded our expectations.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Essence Series® Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sherihorvath
State:California, CA
Love my windows
PostedNovember 20, 2017
Replaced most of the windows in my house including two 8' patio sliders and 4 large fixed windows above the sliders. It turned out beautiful. The wood gives an extra visual warmth to the room.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Essence Series® Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CM4124
State:Arizona, AZ
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Spanish/Stucco
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Clean clear and smooth
PostedNovember 17, 2017
After years of struggling to open windows the milgard window opens with ease and minimal effort
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Essence Series® Windows
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gregg70
State:Washington, WA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Craftsman
Age Home:11-20
Customer Type:Homeowner
Easy to install
PostedNovember 12, 2017
I’ve owned two homes with Millgard windows and doors. The home owner product support from customer service and their repair teams have always been great.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Essence Series® Windows
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
OlyJS
State:Washington, WA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Very pretty wood windows
PostedNovember 11, 2017
Updated window line with chunkier look than previous vertical grain fir style. Looks quite nice but the handles are a bit awkward and don't feel comfortable in your hand when using. Overall have had great success with a home full of Milgard windows over 25 years, and customer service and replacement are notably good.
Review 17 for Essence Series® Windows
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Kevin no happy
State:Washington, WA
Age Home:71+
Customer Type:Homeowner
essence casement - very poor quality and functionality
PostedNovember 10, 2017
Purchased many new essence series casements. While they look nice, we are very dissatisfied with the quality, performance and functionality. They are very awkward to operate. The lock handle comes off when locking/unlocking. The trim around the lock handle pops out of the window. The lock handle is grinding internally and leaving metal shavings on the sill.
The tech said these are common problems. He also warned us to keep them closed and locked as they will WARP over time.
We sorely regret not choosing the obvious industry leader.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Milgard Window's & Patio DoorsBy Milgard Social TeamNovember 10, 2017
Hello - Thank you so much for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We take all customer complaints seriously and would like to discuss this issue with you. Please contact us at social@milgard.com. Thank you.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byKevin no happy
Seattle
onMay 10, 2018
How would this not be considered helpful?
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for Essence Series® Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boo14
State:California, CA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Spanish/Stucco
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Excellent Windows
PostedOctober 18, 2017
Had 3 windows installed. The quality is excellent. The ease of opening and style are fantastic. Highly recommend over other brands.
Review 19 for Essence Series® Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Islandlife1
State:Washington, WA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:31-50
Beautiful Windows
PostedOctober 13, 2017
We replaced all windows in our first floor with Milgard products. Love the tint and styling - really cooled down our upstairs and improved the view. Wonderful product.
Review 20 for Essence Series® Windows
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roseway
State:Oregon, OR
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Craftsman
Age Home:71+
Customer Type:Homeowner
Very Satisfied with Essence Windows
PostedOctober 11, 2017
We took almost two years researching replacement windows for our 1939 bungalow. We settled on Milgard Essence wood windows because of the quality, and beautiful appearance. We stained the wood light oak. These windows blended with our traditional decor, and made our house considerably more airtight, and soundproof. Portland Millwork supplied our windows, and was very easy to deal with. I cannot stress enough the importance of proper installation. Installation of replacement windows can be tricky, and our installer Lifetime Remodeling did a great job. We had some minor issues with the windows, and Portland Millwork handled the warranty smoothly. All in all we are very satisfied.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.