Customer reviews for Milgard Essence Series® Wood Windows

Essence Series® Wood Windows

Milgard Essence Series® Wood Windows

Wood has always been praised for its beauty and natural insulating properties inside the home--but presented real challenges in terms of durability on the exterior. With Essence Series Milgard combines the best of both worlds. A durable fiberglass exterior stands strong to protect a solid wood interior against the elements for lasting beauty and exceptional performance.Powder coat color options vary for radius windows.
Overall rating:
3.976 / 5
4
 / 
5
(42 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
28

 out

of 
39(72%)
recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Essence Series® Wood Windows
Review 1 for Essence Series® Wood Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Features 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Appearance 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Value for the Price 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Ease of use 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedFebruary 4, 2013

Outside protection, beautiful inside

We are happy to let you know that we are pleased with our new windows.
The old windows were far past their prime, especially the outside wood. The fibreglass exterior looks great and the inside wood is beautiful.
The new windows make the house more pleasant in terms of temperature and no worries about colour fading.
Bert and Connie
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
desi
From:Hope, BC, Canada
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
+1point
16of 31voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Essence Series® Wood Windows
Overall rating 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Features 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Appearance 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Quality 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Value for the Price 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Ease of use 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
PostedFebruary 15, 2018

Disappointed

These weren't cheap windows & for some reason I expected to get what we paid for, beautiful windows. Besides having issues with a dozen or so, the screens look horrible....They don't lay flat due to the little plastic buttons added to lock them in place, which causes the screens to stick out where every single button is. Have been waiting for months for Milgard to come out to fix all the other issues we've had with the actual windows...maybe next week? (they've already canceled on us once) I'm hoping once the house is completed that the overall look of the house won't be ruined by the look of the windows.
Zip Code91935
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard Social TeamFebruary 15, 2018
Hello - thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. The windows should look just the way they did in the showroom. Please email me for assistance if all issues are not resolved after your service appointment. Thank you. social@milgard.com
Customer avatar
Vanessa61
State:California, CA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:0-5
Customer Type:Homeowner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Essence Series® Wood Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedFebruary 9, 2018

Nice Windows

Good looking and nice, I will recommend to all my friends and relatives to use them
Zip Code91770
Customer avatar
Gabrielpoon18
State:California, CA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Essence Series® Wood Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Features 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Appearance 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Value for the Price 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Ease of use 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedJanuary 26, 2018

The windows are beautiful.

Our new Milgard windows are beautiful inside & out. They give our French/traditional style home a fresh updated look. We went from all wood windows, that had white grids, and that had become worn & warped to the Essence Series fiberglass clad wood -without grids. We love the clean look & great ‘views’. Also, looking forward to years of low maintenance-no need to paint exteriors.
Zip Code98012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
Bchap
State:Washington, WA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Essence Series® Wood Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Features 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Appearance 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Value for the Price 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Ease of use 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
PostedJanuary 9, 2018

Well crafted product

We are more than pleased with our new windows. They are well constructed and they exceeded our expectations.
Zip Code97357
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
Striker
State:Oregon, OR
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Craftsman
Customer Type:Homeowner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Essence Series® Wood Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedNovember 20, 2017

Love my windows

Replaced most of the windows in my house including two 8' patio sliders and 4 large fixed windows above the sliders. It turned out beautiful. The wood gives an extra visual warmth to the room.
Zip Code96107
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
sherihorvath
State:California, CA
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Essence Series® Wood Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedNovember 17, 2017

Clean clear and smooth

After years of struggling to open windows the milgard window opens with ease and minimal effort
Zip Code85044-2483
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
CM4124
State:Arizona, AZ
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Spanish/Stucco
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Essence Series® Wood Windows
Overall rating 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Features 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Appearance 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Value for the Price 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Ease of use 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedNovember 12, 2017

Easy to install

I’ve owned two homes with Millgard windows and doors. The home owner product support from customer service and their repair teams have always been great.
Zip Code98584
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
Gregg70
State:Washington, WA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Craftsman
Age Home:11-20
Customer Type:Homeowner
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Essence Series® Wood Windows
Overall rating 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Appearance 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Value for the Price 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Ease of use 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
PostedNovember 11, 2017

Very pretty wood windows

Updated window line with chunkier look than previous vertical grain fir style. Looks quite nice but the handles are a bit awkward and don't feel comfortable in your hand when using. Overall have had great success with a home full of Milgard windows over 25 years, and customer service and replacement are notably good.
Zip Code98502
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
OlyJS
State:Washington, WA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Essence Series® Wood Windows
Overall rating 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Features 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Appearance 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Quality 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Value for the Price 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Ease of use 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
PostedNovember 10, 2017

essence casement - very poor quality and functionality

Purchased many new essence series casements. While they look nice, we are very dissatisfied with the quality, performance and functionality. They are very awkward to operate. The lock handle comes off when locking/unlocking. The trim around the lock handle pops out of the window. The lock handle is grinding internally and leaving metal shavings on the sill.
The tech said these are common problems. He also warned us to keep them closed and locked as they will WARP over time.
We sorely regret not choosing the obvious industry leader.
Zip Code98125
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard Social TeamNovember 10, 2017
Hello - Thank you so much for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We take all customer complaints seriously and would like to discuss this issue with you. Please contact us at social@milgard.com. Thank you.
Customer avatar
Menolike
State:Washington, WA
Age Home:71+
Customer Type:Homeowner
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Essence Series® Wood Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Features 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Appearance 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Value for the Price 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Ease of use 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedOctober 18, 2017

Excellent Windows

Had 3 windows installed. The quality is excellent. The ease of opening and style are fantastic. Highly recommend over other brands.
Zip Code95033
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
Boo14
State:California, CA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Spanish/Stucco
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Essence Series® Wood Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedOctober 13, 2017

Beautiful Windows

We replaced all windows in our first floor with Milgard products. Love the tint and styling - really cooled down our upstairs and improved the view. Wonderful product.
Zip Code98070
Customer avatar
Islandlife1
State:Washington, WA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:31-50
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Essence Series® Wood Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedOctober 11, 2017

Very Satisfied with Essence Windows

We took almost two years researching replacement windows for our 1939 bungalow. We settled on Milgard Essence wood windows because of the quality, and beautiful appearance. We stained the wood light oak. These windows blended with our traditional decor, and made our house considerably more airtight, and soundproof. Portland Millwork supplied our windows, and was very easy to deal with. I cannot stress enough the importance of proper installation. Installation of replacement windows can be tricky, and our installer Lifetime Remodeling did a great job. We had some minor issues with the windows, and Portland Millwork handled the warranty smoothly. All in all we are very satisfied.
Zip Code97213
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
Roseway
State:Oregon, OR
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Craftsman
Age Home:71+
Customer Type:Homeowner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Essence Series® Wood Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Features 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Appearance 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Value for the Price 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Ease of use 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedOctober 10, 2017

Casement Windows

Missing Sales Order No. One of the windows was missing a sales order. Not included on the registration card
Our contractor was not happy with the weight of the fiberglass windows. Perhaps Milgard needs to engineer these windows for easier installation on a second story.
Zip Code92630
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
usna67
State:California, CA
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Essence Series® Wood Windows
Overall rating 
2 out of  5
2 out of  5
Features 
2 out of  5
2 out of  5
Appearance 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Quality 
2 out of  5
2 out of  5
Value for the Price 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Ease of use 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
PostedOctober 9, 2017

Features not great. Future durability remains to be seen

Essence series wood windows. Difficult to finish and protect wood of operable casements as recesses are very deep and can't be reached with brush. Therefore, can't protect the wood on outside of casement. Screens can't be inserted or removed without removing crank hardware. Plastic was glued to window under screen prior to delivery with adhesive that was nearly impossible to remove. Outside appearance is good, inside lacks refined detail of other wood windows.
Zip Code95567
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard Social TeamOctober 10, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. This is the first time I've heard of these issues before. Can you email me at social@milgard.com so I can help? Thank you.
Customer avatar
Leenan
State:California, CA
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byMenolike
seattle
screens
onNovember 10, 2017
yes. removal of screens is a pain along with everything else I mention in my review.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Essence Series® Wood Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Features 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Appearance 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Value for the Price 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Ease of use 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedOctober 4, 2017

look great

I am impressed with the appearance and looks of this product. The stained wood frame gives the window a prominent look enhancing the entire room. Operation of these windows is solid and easy.
Zip Code99206
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
HAKO
State:Washington, WA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Craftsman
Age Home:71+
Customer Type:Homeowner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Essence Series® Wood Windows
Overall rating 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
PostedOctober 1, 2017

Time will tell ...

The windows were just installed 2 days ago. They seem great but we will only know their performance with time. Ask me these questions in a year when we have had an opportunity to use and test them.
Zip Code84010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
MomK58
State:Utah, UT
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Essence Series® Wood Windows
Overall rating 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
PostedSeptember 24, 2017

Such a beautiful Product

We just installed 11 windows and 1 French Door; Essence series. The wood casements look super luxe. Our windows are majority Casement and the mechanisms work well with one or two minor issues. Our GC opened a ticket with Milgard and they will be out soon to address these few issues. Over all, this is a great product, worth the 2x more $ than the Tuscany series.
Zip Code90275
Yes, I recommend this product.
Customer avatar
wickedkuul
State:California, CA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:51-70
Customer Type:Homeowner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Essence Series® Wood Windows
Overall rating 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Features 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
Appearance 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Quality 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Value for the Price 
1 out of  5
1 out of  5
Ease of use 
4 out of  5
4 out of  5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
PostedAugust 23, 2017

Terrible workmanship in crafting the wood frames

We are developers for a 10 unit townhouse development. We purchased about 300 windows for this project. However, this is the last time we will be using Milgard. The attached photos -each photo is of a different window- say it loud and clear: the craftsmanship and attention to the detailing of the window frames is abysmal! Frame pieces are out of plane, and gaps between frame pieces vary from 1/8" to over 1/4".
Zip Code97401
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard Social TeamAugust 24, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We have always taken pride in producing quality windows. Your photos do not reflect our high standards. Can you please email me at social@milgard.com? We need to report this to the manufacturing plant and get service scheduled for your development under the Full Lifetime Warranty. Thank you.
Customer avatar
James2
State:Oregon, OR
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:0-5
Customer Type:Architect
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Essence Series® Wood Windows
Overall rating 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Features 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Appearance 
5 out of  5
5 out of  5
Quality 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Value for the Price 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
Ease of use 
3 out of  5
3 out of  5
PostedAugust 15, 2017

Get ready to wait

The windows are beautiful once stained, and so is the hardware. However, both the double hung and slider windows are drafty, and they don't all open and close with the same effort. Some are stiff, some are smooth. But this has turned out to be the same with their other levels of windows (which we have in the bathrooms).
And pray that the windows arrive in pristine condition because its a 4-5 month wait before someone will come to look at them let alone another wait of possible months for replacement parts. That is the same if it comes broken or if a part fails under warranty or if you break a part and are looking to pay for replacement pieces.
Beautiful, not cheap, drafty, and with a wait time that the DMV is aspiring too. Not worth it in my opinion. Try a different brand for better service times...
Zip Code94519
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard Social TeamAugust 15, 2017
I'm so sorry to hear about your experience. Your windows should work the way they did in the showroom when you first tried them out. Regarding the delay in warranty service, can you please email me at social@milgard.com so I can get your contact info and find out if an earlier appointment is available? Thank you.
Customer avatar
Redbeard
State:California, CA
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 See more>>