Customer reviews for Milgard Milgard® Windows & Doors

Milgard Milgard® Windows & Doors

With one of the industry's largest selections, Milgard has the frames, styles and choices to complement any project.
Overall rating:
4.317 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(524 reviews) 524
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 524 reviews
5 Stars
344
4 Stars
84
3 Stars
41
2 Stars
28
1 Star
27
448 out of 515(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Review 61 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great windows

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer avatar
MountainCustomCabinetry
City & State:Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Contractor
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I am a contractor in Arizona. When I went looking for windows for my own home I did alot of research about windows for a hot climate. Milgard Ultra came out on top. I installed twelve casement windows 8 years ago and have been exceptionally pleased with them. The 3D glass system is amazing, our home is radically more comfortable in the summer. We live on a busy street and the traffic noise reduction is probably 90% over our old aluminum sliders. The white fiberglass frames show little to no signs of aging after 8 years in full desert sun. The operating mechanisms have had no issues and the windows still operate fine. I have had only two minor issues with these windows; the screens have sliding retaining pins in the four corners, but they are a pain to install because the pins don't line up well with the window and the pins get sticky and won't slide. I believe the newer window screens have a better retaining system. The only service issue I have had in eight years was with the outermost weather stripping. It is exposed to the elements, and the original product failed ( became sticky, decomposed and retained dirt). I contacted Milgard and they came out and replaced all of it, no problem. Lifetime Warranty!!
I highly recomend these windows, my only regret is that soon after I purchased them Milgard came out with an even BETTER glass system, 3D Maxx South. They have a HUGE list of available options with these windows, I have sold these windows to my customers since 2006 and the feedback from them has been equally positive. The price is competative with other premium windows, value is unbeatable in my opinion.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffJune 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is wonderful to hear our windows helped you create a more comfortable home -- the photos look great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromTuscany® Series Vinyl Windows.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Windows are good/paint applied on exterior was a poor job.

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
HJCdjc
City & State:Los Lunas, NM, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Spanish/Stucco
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Contractor
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The windows were custom size Tuscany double hung to fit existing window opening. Windows were fine but the exterior bronze paint job was poor. One window was not totally painted, most had overspray on the white interior opening and there we're paint runs. Need better quality control on the paint. Don't know if I would recommend painted windows to future clients.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

comments re: 20 Milgard Tuscanny windows installed in Sept 2010

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
leon940
City & State:Torrance, CA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Spanish/Stucco
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Biggest complaint: 9 of 20 screens developed crud (rust? paint defect?) beneath paint
(1 window destined for attic never installed due to city diss-allowed)
6 of 20 screens are "warped" require great effort to install / remove w/o damage
Most screen corners are not "rigid" indicating poor fabrication / workmanship
16 of 80 little rubber button self adhesive spacer window channel guides fell off, so far
water "drain slits" fill up with dust & outdoors debris causing channel puddle when it rains (live So Calif near beach W.Torrance, seldom rains) but it is in dry times crud accumulates
I miss former spacious inside ledge space for nick-knacks, lost converting from previous framed originals of Wood (all were vertical double hung, which I prefer for flow around air ventilation ) & Aluminum (all horiz with spacious ledges & fullest viewing area), the replacement vinyl window see through area is much reduced due to the 4 edge extra wide vinyl border glass supports
(unless old opening modified, reframe to increase by ~2" on ea of 4 sides ,i.e. lost 4" horizontal & 4" vertical glass viewing area)
I qualified & applied for a $475 Milgard rebate, but received only $200, with no explanation offered after several calls + note from the place I'd made purchase, I eventually gave up. I asked for rebate for 19 ea x $25 ea =$475 (for 19 of 20 purchased 20th "bonus" from store)
While displeased with these problems,
the windows do serve their purpose and were initially deemed cost effective in my retirement. (i.e. if you don't include having to replace 9 screens within a year)
The double panes effectively reduce noise and heat loss (high reflectivity coating on south windows)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromTuscany® Series Vinyl Windows.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Less Noise.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
janjohnson7453
City & State:Sun City, AZ, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cuts down on all outside noise including the neighbors noisy little dog. Can only barely hear planes overhead now & the lawn guys are no longer in our living room.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Mechanics issues

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
bryan123
City & State:San Mateo, CA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Spanish/Stucco
Age Home:51-70
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The woodclad product is very attractive product, however, we continue to have issues with the operation. The 10' sliding glass door is almost impossible to lock and the screens on the same door do not roll, they are very difficult to open and close. We also never received two screen for two of the windows.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffJune 26, 2014
We are sorry to hear you are experiencing some issues with the door operation. You can find several videos on product operation including one on adjusting the door lock on Sliding Glass Doors: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uXGp...

Please give us a call at 1800 MILGARD if you have additional questions.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not sure if we are completely happy yet

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer avatar
tammy63
City & State:omaha , ne
Style of Home:Modern
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just had ours installed a few weeks ago and have the outside condensation as well. Also have water inside the windows on the track when it rains. It seems to go away on its own. If this is a feature of the windows we were not told this and are waiting to hear back from installers. Is it self draining or something?
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Windows

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer avatar
FG2014
City & State:Sugar Land, TX, USA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great window, However at the time we made the selection, we were not told of the color options for the outside. Now we have nice windows but the outside (white vinyl) looks cheap, not to mention the top of three of the windows sticks out, not matching the other windows. Also the installer cover the all weep hole cover with silicone. The reseller and installer was Houston Window Expert
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 68 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed in outside condensation and appearance.

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer avatar
nanfgh6
City & State:Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had all of my windows replaced, and am quite disappointed. In the morning there is outside condensation on the windows. In order to see out clearly, I would need to go outside and wipe the windows each mornings. I don't have time to do so, and the windows get dirty.
In addition, the grey-brown color that I chose actually makes the house look cheap and plastic
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffJune 23, 2014
We apologize you are not entirely satisfied with your windows. Regarding the condensation, it may be occurring because your new windows are more energy efficient. Please find more information on our Window and Care section: http://www.milgard.com/care-and-war...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 69 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Upgraded Style MUCH Better

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer avatar
rvernon
City & State:Danville, CA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We have 3 of these Tuscan-style slider doors in our house. The first two that were installed are the original series and are hard to slide and even harder to lock/unlock. My 10 year-old son sometimes cant even open the door. The newer/upgraded version is much better at sliding and a much easier locking mechanism. That goes for both the door itself as well as the screen door. I would highly recommend this (upgraded) one over the other.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 70 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromTuscany® Series Vinyl Windows.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Windows and French Doors

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Blondieee
City & State:Oceanside, CA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am really happy with the Milgard product: windows and French doors. They look terrific. They perform really well. I have not had to turn the AC on (down stairs) since I had the new windows installed. The temperature stays comfortable all day long (about 73) even when the temperatures push 90 outside. I got the highest rating for UV screening and temperature control. The windows were "retrofit" and just replaced my old 90's windows with no damage to the outside building structure after they were installed. My HOA archetectural commitee had to approve it all.
The only issue I had was with the installation. Three windows were not measured correctly and had to be reorderd. My kitchen French door would not close correctly so had to be replaced and then reworked once again. Not a Milgard problem. It was all issues with my installer. Milgard came to my rescue in the very, very end. I am happy now. All is well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 71 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pretty good, but could use inprovement

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer avatar
ouroldhouse
City & State:Seattle, WA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Craftsman
Age Home:71+
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have 13 essence double hung windows and some awning and picture windows in my home. The overall use and durability has been good. However, they just feel like not a very refined design. The spoon lock hits the upper casing/stop. It leaves a dent in the painted wood. Ths original double hungs have a nice brass stop to prevent this. The fitment of the interior wood is ok. These windows all are snap together, thus painted joints crack. The casing seem kind of thick compared to other windows. However, I shopped lots of different windows before buying these and even though I liked other windows more the overall value made me choose the milgard essence. Nonetheless, a little better engineering would have really made this window shine compared to others. Milgard customer service has been great. I had one of the lower sash slide pins break while cleaning them. Milgard came right out and fixed it. These was a little inclusion in the casting. I think this was an exception none of my other windows have had any issues.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 72 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromTuscany® Series Vinyl Windows.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product, outstanding service.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer avatar
sierradan
City & State:Portland, Oregon
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Unknown
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Tuscany series, with equal sight-lines, looks nice, and the windows operate well. When a couple of the windows needed adjustments, Milgard responded immediately. This is a quality product, backed for life by a Company that will be there if I need them.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 73 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the warranty

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer avatar
beryl
City & State:Laguna Hills, Calif.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Spanish/Stucco
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replaced all my windows several years ago. Did one side at a time. One window had a problem with the inset grid. Milgard came right out and repaired it for no charge. Exceptional customer service. Would never buy any other type of window.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 74 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Looking and Efficient

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer avatar
mustang64
City & State:Manhattan Beach, CA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We replaced existing windows (retro-fit) that were falling apart and some were not operable. We are very pleased with our new Milgard Aluminum windows. They operate with ease and block out most of the street noise. We live in a city and off of a boulevard. The look is very sleek as our townhouse is contemporary. We couldn't be more pleased with our choice.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffJune 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. Sounds like the new windows helped make your townhouse more comfortable --- we're glad to hear it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 75 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Problems with quality control.

PostedJune 15, 2014
Customer avatar
JarekW
City & State:Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Spanish/Stucco
Age Home:11-20
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Some of the windows will be replaced. They were shipped without checking. The sliding windows are too short. That should not have ever happened.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 76 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I have condensation in my brand new window ...

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer avatar
jdan
City & State:Colorado
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would like to be contacted by Milgard as there is condensation on one of my brand new windows. I would like for it to be replaced.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffJune 10, 2014
Hi jdan, you may be experiencing some condensation because your new windows are more energy efficient. You can manage condensation by increasing ventilation and reducing indoor humidity. We have some tips for that on our product care page: http://www.milgard.com/care-and-war...

If you have additional questions, please give us a call at 1 800 MILGARD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 77 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Locking is difficult

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Tomboysmom
City & State:Pasadena ca
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
The doors are beautiful and they make my room look so much better but the locking park is not as easy as it could be. You really have to pull up on it. I feel that if I did this 20 times a day that it would break soon. This is for our french doors that swing in,
The sliding doors are on the other hand is perfect. I love them,I already recommended it to our friends who is looking.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffJune 9, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback, we will look into the locking park to make sure it operates smoothly. If you have any other questions, give us a call at 1 800 MILGARD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 78 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The winows look great in my house, they are just what I wanted and expected.

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Ukulelecrazy
City & State:Eagle Point, OR 97524, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far, so good. I have only had the windows for two days.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 79 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

One problem after another POOR customer service

PostedJune 4, 2014
Customer avatar
JoeKing
City & State:Los Angeles, CA, USA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is 5th house Ive done with Milgaurd.Never a problem before they were vinyl. This is my residence. I am an experienced carpenter and have installed at least 100 windows. I used aluminum awning and casements.11 total. Nothing but problems from the beginning. First set were the wrong type of frames. I was able to make a couple work/fit. The rest we had to reorder. Major delay. Thier customer service is terrible. Finally the replacement windows arrive and they are a mess. Silicone smeared all over, metal shaving in all the tracks. Rep comes out AGAIN "OMG these should never have left the factory like this" No Quality control Then All the screens were the wrong size, Most all the screen clips were broken. Then I got the new screens and a few of them were wrong, even though they had the correct size on the sticker. Ive been try to get the screen clips Twice they have sent wrong ones.... And the nitemare continues
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffJune 9, 2014
We apologize the wrong parts were sent to you. We recently made changes to our screens as part of our ongoing product improvement. We have shipped out the correct screen parts needed and you will receive them this week.

We appreciate your continued business and hope you will give us another chance to make things right. Please do not hesitate to follow up if you have additional questions or concerns.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 80 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromStandard Sliding Doors.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor product

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer avatar
aspensmf
City & State:Glenwood Springs, CO 81601, USA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We purchases a house that was built with milgard products. The screens have been the main problem but we have also had problems with the sealing around the windows and doors. Our screen doors have never slid properly and I am not pleased with the quality of the product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 27 next>>