Customer reviews for Milgard Milgard® Windows & Doors

Milgard Milgard® Windows & Doors

With one of the industry's largest selections, Milgard has the frames, styles and choices to complement any project.
Overall rating:
4.271 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(642 reviews) 642
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 642 reviews
5 Stars
415
4 Stars
104
3 Stars
47
2 Stars
34
1 Star
42
536 out of 628(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Review 61 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So pleased with low E

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Ellenor
City & State:Tehachapi, CA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:11-20
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have long been a fan of Milgard windows and had them installed when our home was built in 1998. At that time the extra cost of low e was prohibitive, however this past year we have upgraded many of our windows to the low e and are extremely pleased with the results. We have a great unobstructed view and now the benefits of cooler in summer and warmer in winter.
Very pleased with the windows and Milgard warranty & Service.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I specified Thermally improved but--

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
mikeb
City & State:pasco, wa
Age Home:11-20
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had several glass units replaced because of internal leaks and all of the frames get ice on the inside
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A decent window for the price.

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
purplecow
City & State:phoenix, az
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Spanish/Stucco
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The screen is a little difficult to get out and the paint on exterior frame gets faded.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is just what I expected!

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Customer avatar
TJ65
City & State:Palm Springs, CA
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nothing else to say other than they are beautiful!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromTuscany® Series Vinyl Windows.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great windows and sliding doors. The window latches and sliding door dead bolt are great features.

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
CCBoy
City & State:Santa Clarita, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Spanish/Stucco
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful windows and sliding doors that function very well, keeping the heat and cold outside while the inside of our home it is perfect. An added benefit of the Suncoat Max/Argon gas is some sound proofing of outside noise. I would highly recommend these windows and doors to others.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality and price

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Henry38
City & State:Salt Spring Island, BC, Canada
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Craftsman
Age Home:71+
Customer Type:Architect
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have installed Milgard Montecito windows before with great success. The quality, features and ease of installation are worth the purchase. The online information about all their lines are clear, with valuable information one requires to make a judgement. With Milgard's record of quality, through the years that we used their products, we are very happy.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The lock and closure mechanism is defective.

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Lill
City & State:Portland Oregon
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this door a month and it is still is not fixed. It was very expensive. It was defective when it arrived and I cant really open and close it without a lot of difficulty.
After a month someone finally came to repair it but it is still defective.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 68 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Impressions of Monntecito style windows and sliders

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
peter1
City & State:Mendocino, CA, USA
Style of Home:Craftsman
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice product and a company that stands by their "full lifetime warranty". All my windows and sliders in my eight year old home are Milgard Montecito. Good quality and sturdy windows for my house that sits on a hillside that gets strong winds and rain.
My only issue with these windows is the glass energy tint. There is a slight green tint that tends to transmit a greenish hue throughout the house, walls and all. I personally would not choose energy glass with this color tint in it again.
Would have given the product five stars but because of the sometimes annoying tint, I will reserve it to four stars. For this reason, if I were building a new home, I would not select any high efficiency glass that has this slight green tint to it. I would only choose a product with glass that has another tint to it. If Milgard were not to offer that option, I would choose anther product.
Overall a good reliable product form an excellent company.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffNovember 26, 2014
Hi Peter1, thanks for sharing your feedback. For future reference, there are a few components in addition to window glass that can help with insulation. We offer argon and krypton gas as well as EdgeGard™ Spacers to improve the energy efficiency of a window. Please feel free to contact a local Milgard dealer in your area who can help you select some options for an energy efficient window without color tint: http://www.milgard.com/dealer-locat...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 69 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm impressed by the product.

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Boston1211
City & State:Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was not interested in Milgard windows in the past. Had seen them installed
in new constructions and they seemed a low quality product. I went in and viewed
the aluminum series. I bought 28 windows and sliders. I was happy to see what the quality of the product received upon delivery.
My building is looking so much better with these new windows and sliders. As we are in very close proximity to a freeway, the improved sound control in the units, is very much appreciated.
I highly recommend Milgard's thermally improved aluminum windows.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 70 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

excellent purchase asnd very happy with the window style and the installation

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Customer avatar
surgarloaf
City & State:San Bernardino National Forest, Sugarloaf Boulevard, Big Bear, CA 92314, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Cape Cod
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All I had was old single pane aluminum frame sliders. By changing the windows it change the entire appearance. Installation was great, no mess and excellent installers. Very happy with installation and the type of windows and company.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 71 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromTuscany® Series Vinyl Windows.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a very good quality looking product

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
rocky18
City & State:livermore,ca.
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Spanish/Stucco
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Windows made a big difference in appearance of our house. Have not really had them long enough to give a true evaluation.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 72 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love the windows!!!

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
DonnaP
City & State:Lompoc, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Spanish/Stucco
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We love our new windows, so easy to open and close. they look great, and the installation was done very quickly, neatly and Mid Coast Glass was wonderful!!!! Thank you
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 73 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

wouldn't buy that products again

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
sunburn65
City & State:Sparta, MI 49345, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We purchased 8 style line sliders for our home in 2010. Easy to install them. What we are disappointed with one of the sliders that are always needed to
straightened up before close it. Those windows are not keeping our home warm in winter at all and we can hear the traffic when windows are all closed. What pains me the most is to trying to clean out the sills of each windows that have so many curves and you cannot get into those tiny spaces to get the dirt, leaves, dead bugs that got trapped in those tiny spaces that are impossible to clean. I would NOT buy those products again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffNovember 19, 2014
sunburn65, we are sorry to hear you are experiencing some difficulties operating one of your sliders. Your windows should not need readjusting every time you open and close. Can you please give us a call at 1 800 MILGARD or fill out a service request form? http://www.milgard.com/service-requ...

Regarding the insulation abilities of your windows, did you elect for any energy efficient components when purchasing your windows? Your Style Line® windows can be designed to meet ENERGY STAR® qualifications and beyond with options such as Low-E Glass, argon gas and spacer technology. If you elected for energy efficient options and are still experiencing issues, we recommend getting in touch with your previous contractor and installer to investigate if there may be something else that may be causing poor insulation. Please feel free to contact us with additional questions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 74 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromTuscany® Series Vinyl Windows.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT JOB.

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
CalifA
City & State:CA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Customer service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I purchased 15 Milgard Tuscany Windows August 2014. Our Installer Lakewood Glass and Screen did a GREAT JOB.
The window look REALLY NICE. WE JUST LOVE THEM. Sorry I haven't taken pictures yet.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 75 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product & installation contractor

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
DavidB
City & State:Wilsonville, OR, USA
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This is second time we've purchased and installed Milgard vinyl windows in a home. It transformed our Sherwood farmhouse into a draft-free and snug harbor...replacing aluminum sash. Amazing smoothly operating, considering the weight. Open/close smoothly every time.
We did the entire house about 6 years ago and last Spring added several into our new-to-us Wilsonville home. Both times we had Lifetime Windows and Doors of east Portland install our new windows and both times, they were outstanding..both in advance communications, and the crew who installed. I'd highly recommend both Milgard and Lifetime W&D to anyone..
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 76 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
OCcustomer
City & State:Mission Viejo, CA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Spanish/Stucco
Age Home:11-20
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We ordered the Ultra series out-swing french doors with sidelights and screen. The sidelights feature is very poorly designed because the screens are on the inside instead of the outside as one would expect. It is awkward to have to push the screen to open it, then unlatch the sidelight door, which is placed way to close to the inside of the frame, making it extremely difficult to open. Then you would shut the screen again to keep the bugs out. Despite asking several vendors about the outswing french doors, not one person mentioned this flaw in design for the sidelights. In fact, they sold us on the feature that the sidelights would open in (therefore, the screens would be on the outside, which is reasonable). I hope Milgard will change this bad feature of the door so that the sidelights open in--and make it easier to unlatch the door by not placing the handle so close to the frame. I was told that because we ordered the Ultra Series, the sidelights only open in the direction the french doors open. Also, paint on the hinges easily chipped off exposing an unprimed hinge underneath. I was highly disappointed in this product and wish we had been given proper information from the vendors.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffNovember 20, 2014
Hi OCcustomer, thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your experience and would like to see if we can help you. Please give us a call at 1 800 MILGARD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 77 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I like the slider door but am sadly disappointed in quality of threshold as it cracked

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
facee
City & State:Fremont, CA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The slider is nice and you promptly replaced the glass when it became cloudy but the threshold which cracked, and you refused to replace or repair just keeps getting worse. Thresholds should be stepped on as you go out the door.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffNovember 21, 2014
Hi facee, thanks for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your threshold. Upon investigation by our technician, it was determined the threshold is cracked due to improper installation and usage. It was not a result of product design or quality.

Our warranty covers our products, but we cannot guarantee the product if it has been improperly installed. We recommend you getting in touch with a contractor to inspect the installation of the threshold. If you have additional questions or would like to discuss this, please do not hesitate to give us a call at 1 800 MILGARD. We are happy to try and provide guidance in any way possible.

If you are looking for a professional installer, we recommend getting in touch with a Local Milgard Dealer
http://www.milgard.com/dealer-locat...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 78 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love the over all appearance of the window.

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Rosebud
City & State:Escalon, CA 95320, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Milgard Style Line Windows are great. I put part of them in 8 years and ago and now I finally finsihed the back side of the house. The windows make the house even more quite.
It's was a pleasure to work with Cal Comfort Windows. Their service was excellent. The gentlemen that did the install work very clean and did a super job with installation.
I'm now looking at replace a door and side door glass panel and Cal Comfort will be doing the job.
Thank you for making such great windows
Rose
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 79 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Tuscany French Doors - the worst

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
MikeFromCalifornia
City & State:San Jose
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
They looked good online, but the delivered product was simply terrible. Manufacturing defects left a large gap between the two doors in the middle (top and bottom have a tight match), barely engaging the locking mechanism. Service technician acknowledged a manufacturing issue after seeing them, and is ordering new doors, but that is 5-8 weeks to replace!! The door tops are completely uneven inside the frame, again really poor manufacturing quality. Absolutely not worthy of a formal dining room. Lastly the locking mechanism is not intuitive at all. We read the instructions, and then twice my wife and I thought we had set the deadbolt on the doors (and we can see it engaged), but our daughter walks right into the house through an unlocked door - complete safety failure. Not happy. Cannot recommend this product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 80 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Have purchased Milgard before and very satisfied

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Bookwood
City & State:Carlsbad, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
This is third time with Milgard and first time with us window-door. Installation was efficient and well coordinated. Sales cycle very good with quotation and requote very timely. Details of windows were made clear so choosing style was easy.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 33 next>>