Customer reviews for Milgard Milgard® Windows & Doors

Milgard Milgard® Windows & Doors

With one of the industry's largest selections, Milgard has the frames, styles and choices to complement any project.
Overall rating:
4.325 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(489 reviews) 489
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 489 reviews
5 Stars
322
4 Stars
79
3 Stars
37
2 Stars
27
1 Star
24
419 out of 481(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Review 61 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful, sleek contemporary and quite flawless

PostedMay 2, 2014
Customer avatar
macksdad
City & State:Palm Springs, CA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These windows are amazing. I own a modern condo in Palm Springs, CA and due to energy efficiency ratings, our city code requires vinyl versus aluminum replacement product. This Style Line (vinyl) was the only approved alternative to aluminum that conformed to the aesthetic of the property. The product line is beautiful, with slim frames and smooth mechanisms. They control heat loss/transfer and I hear NOTHING when cars pass by. The sound insulation quality has exceeded expectations. I have casement and horizontal sliders and they both operate effortlessly. The overall design of this product is brilliant, tight, smart, elegant and designed for a very fussy buyer/homeowner. Get a good installer. I used California Window and Door and they are AMAZING. So professional and detail oriented. My home is restored and renewed. Thank you Milgard and CW&D.
DWS, Palm Springs, CA 5/2/2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromTuscany® Series Vinyl Windows.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not exactly sure which window it was.

PostedMay 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Charlie5615
City & State:Mount Hood, Mt Hood National Forest, Oregon 97041, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Cape Cod
Age Home:11-20
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased a cabin with expansive array of Milgard Windows showing off Mt. Hood. The view beautiful with one window cloudy. After getting instructions from the company, I emailed the window serial number and a photo of the window. Within a few weeks the window was replaced. I was never asked for any warranty information, the company retained all of the information.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffMay 5, 2014
Hi Charlie5615, glad to hear you are enjoying your beautiful views with our windows. We would like to invite you to register your warranty online: http://www.milgard.com/warranty-reg..., this will help us locate your information faster so you do not need to email a photo of the window or serial number in case you need to request service in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromTuscany® Series Vinyl Windows.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

we are very pleased. these were custom windows.

PostedMay 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Laurie61
City & State:san diego
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:51-70
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We shopped for about 2 months and had them custom made. They are beautiful.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An all around great window

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer avatar
nativefox
City & State:Prescott Valley, AZ, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:0-5
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did quite a bit of research before purchasing windows & sliding doors for my new residence. Milgard came out with the best quality for the price & the most recommendations. Installation was easy & after almost a year I am completely satisfied with my purchase.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffMay 5, 2014
We are happy to hear you are completely satisfied with your purchase. Thanks for choosing us as your window and door brand!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

poor qualitiy

PostedApril 24, 2014
Customer avatar
unfortunate
City & State:Santa Ana, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Poor qualitiy review before window was shipped. Insulllation has pulled loose from bottom of window. How does a home owner fix that after installation. Very unhappy.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffApril 24, 2014
We apologize the insulation has pulled loose from the bottom and would like to fix the problem. Have you been in contact with our customer support team? If not, submit a request online at http://www.milgard.com/service-requ... or by calling 1 800 MILGARD. You will reach someone live. If you have additional questions, please do not hesitate to contact us at social@milgard.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Windows!

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Rosann17
City & State:Biggs, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The new windows look great on our home. Jackson's Glass did an awesome and professional job and cleanup. We have had this type of widow installed in our previous home and loved them. Wouldn't go with anything else. These look wonderful!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromHorizontal Slider Windows.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

windows services

PostedApril 20, 2014
Customer avatar
nart
City & State:riverside, ca
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Victorian
Age Home:6-10
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my home 2011 and one day one of window glass is broken I called the builder and told you have milgard windows installed in your house ,I called service dep.
I was told no glass breakage guaranty but we will go ahead and replace the glass for you free of charge I really like this type of service .
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 68 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromSingle Hung Windows.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Overpriced with exceptionally poor forethought in design.

PostedApril 18, 2014
Customer avatar
waikoloa
City & State:Hawaii, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:6-10
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The Milgard Windows in our condo are under ten years old and prone to problems, malfunction and outright failure. Counter-weight lift assistance or spring assistance that functioned properly would be an assest. Right now I have difficulty operating these units and I bench press over 200 lbs.
Once they begin to malfunction they no longer fit and thus leak air, rain water and insects.
They look nice......thats about it in the plus column.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffApril 21, 2014
We are sorry to hear you are experiencing issues with your single hung windows. Have you contacted customer support? Please get in touch with them online http://www.milgard.com/service-requ... or by calling 1 800 MILGARD so they can work to resolve your issue under our Full Lifetime Warranty.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 69 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Windows look great

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer avatar
KathyL
City & State:Vancouver, WA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Craftsman
Age Home:11-20
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The 18 windows that our in our house are excellent, Milgard stands behind their product even 12+ years later. Would choose and recommend Milgard again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffApril 23, 2014
We are delighted to hear you rate our windows as excellent. It is always a pleasure to hear from our consumers and we truly value your feedback.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 70 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromStandard Sliding Doors.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

lack of security system on exterior of door.

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer avatar
GRIZZLY
City & State:long beach , ca.
Age:65 or over
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:51-70
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am most pleased with the overall quality and operability of the Tuscany slider that we have, how ever the one thing that strikes me as "absent" from the whole door design is that was no consideration for locking device that could be key locked / unlocked from the outside for entrée. I have searched around to various hardware store, lock-smiths and such but I am told they had not seen anything of the sort. Does your company know of a device that would fit this need? I would greatly appreciate any assistance in the mater.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffApril 23, 2014
Hi there, you ask a very good question. Sliding patio doors are typically locked from the inside. At this time, we do not have a key locked option. However, we are constantly working on product innovation and this may become available in the future. We do offer a key lock that enables locking from the outside on our bi-fold glass walls. We recommend you contact your local Milgard dealer to learn more: http://www.milgard.com/dealer-locat.... Please feel free to follow up if you have additional questions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 71 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Windows ever!

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer avatar
bjeintucson64
City & State:Tucson,
Age:65 or over
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:0-5
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We installed new windows and a patio door unit from Milgard in our new home. They are well constructed and look very nice. Most important they are excellent energy savers. That is so important as we live in the Arizona desert. We did receive one of the windows damaged but Milgard sent a replacement immediately. Wonderful windows, wonderful company. Thank you Milgard.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 72 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Attractive and slide easily. Self locking and changed the whole look of the house for the better.

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Antonio66
City & State:Chico, CA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:51-70
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent installers took the time to prevent damage to our newly installed floor. Answered all our questions and were very courteous. I would recommend Jackson Glass to all my friends for future window needs.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 73 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Excellent Warranty and Customer Service

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Bob67
City & State:Walnut Creek, CA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:51-70
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Can't speak highly enough regarding Milguard's warranty and customer service in resolving issues that I have had with my 7x5 picture window. Frankly, you have exceeded my expectations for standing behind your product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 74 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromTuscany® Series Vinyl Windows.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very nice

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Romeo
City & State:South Bay, CA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:51-70
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the windows and sliding doors are great. solid construction, great insulation, just the right sizes. the one problem we have is the XX slider is difficult to close. but the items with one moving part snap shut nicely.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 75 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You can't beat their warranty service

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
5outta6
City & State:Novato, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:51-70
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have had Milgard replacement windows for so long I can't remember when they were installed. We requested and had warranty service performed a few times in the last couple of years.
Milgard is on company that stands behind their warranty with fast and excellent service.
The service tech was on time and did the job professionally.
I would not hesitate to buy Milgard products again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffApril 14, 2014
We truly appreciate your business and happy to hear you are satisfied with both our products and service. Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 76 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Screens easily fall out and break; windows jam; not energy efficient

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer avatar
SFBay
City & State:San Francisco, CA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
We have had Milgard out to repair the windows and they get 'unbalanced' and can't be slid up or down without extreme difficulty. The large windows had very loose screens which Milgard said they couldn't do anything about. They are not secured well and fall out easily. Since they are on the second story, they are all broken from crashing down. The little double hung on the bathroom also lost its screen, although that took ~ 5 years. The others broke and we haven't found anyone to be able to replace them as they secure to the rubber gasket. The windows lose their shape over time and there are gaps now between the upper and lower windows and along the side, allowing cold air in. Calling for support is easy - but having someone call you back after leaving a message is hard. Now trying to log support call via the website. Really disappointed given the cost. Also had hardware break on awning window. Needless to say, when we remodeled another part of the house we did not go with Milgard.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 77 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the work

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Homeowner310
City & State:El Monte
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Cape Cod
Age Home:51-70
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy after 5 years too Very happy after 5 years too Very happy after 5 years too Very happy after 5 years too Very happy after 5 years too
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 78 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

replacement windows

PostedApril 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Angoraview
City & State:South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently had two windows replaced due to moisture in between the panes after 17 years. Not only were they replaced free of charge, the installers were prompt, courteous, and professional. I would buy Milgard again without hesitation.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffApril 8, 2014
We are so glad to hear you are enjoying your windows after 17 years! Thank you for sharing your feedback.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 79 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

HARD TO OPEN AND CLOSE

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
ked1
City & State:Oregon, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:0-5
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We have great milgard vynil windows in our current home. We decided to go with the aluminum for more of a modern look for a new house we are building. BIG MISTAKE...it takes me a long time to open these windows. Sometimes I can't even do it. I have to wait for my husband to help me.Be warned!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffApril 2, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you have difficulty operating the windows. Did you purchase your windows through one of our Certified Local Dealers? If so, they should be able to tell you the correct way to operate the window and also check to see if everything was installed correctly.
If there is an issue with the window, please contact our customer support team so they can send a technician out to take a look.
http://www.milgard.com/service-requ...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 80 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromVinyl Doors.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good windows / Poorly made screens

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer avatar
TomHawaii
City & State:Hawaii
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:6-10
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a mixed review! I have done three separate installs at our home with Milgard windows and sliding doors. Many different configurations all the way up to 16-foot sliders. Overall, I am happy with the quality of the windows and some of the doors. All the screens are poorly made.
They fall apart or need adjusting regularly. When I called Milgard they said that the screens are made by a different company. It is hard to imagine that a company would go to such lengths to make a decent product and finish it with junk from someone else.
Our contractor still says that Milgard is: “The best bang for the buck and he is probably right.” We are getting ready for our fourth remodel and I will probably use their windows again, but only the stainless hardware as the regular hardware rust quickly.
I have called and asked for help or some kind of compensation, and have begrudgingly had an unsuccessful offer. I don’t know what else to say other than maybe this time I will try their very highest quality line and see if these are different.
Tom from Hawaii
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffMarch 31, 2014
Hi Tom,

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We are glad to hear you are enjoying your windows. Not sure if you checked out our product care tips, but they may help extend the life of your doors:
http://www.milgard.com/care-and-war... Since you live in Hawaii, corrosion takes place if there is not proper maintenance done on the hardware due to the corrosive environment. We suggest using corrosion blocking products. Hope this helps and please feel free to follow up with questions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 25 next>>