Customer reviews for Milgard Milgard® Windows & Doors

Milgard Milgard® Windows & Doors

With one of the industry's largest selections, Milgard has the frames, styles and choices to complement any project.
Overall rating:
4.315 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(518 reviews) 518
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 518 reviews
5 Stars
340
4 Stars
83
3 Stars
40
2 Stars
28
1 Star
27
442 out of 509(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Review 61 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Windows

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer avatar
FG2014
City & State:Sugar Land, TX, USA
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great window, However at the time we made the selection, we were not told of the color options for the outside. Now we have nice windows but the outside (white vinyl) looks cheap, not to mention the top of three of the windows sticks out, not matching the other windows. Also the installer cover the all weep hole cover with silicone. The reseller and installer was Houston Window Expert
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed in outside condensation and appearance.

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer avatar
nanfgh6
City & State:Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had all of my windows replaced, and am quite disappointed. In the morning there is outside condensation on the windows. In order to see out clearly, I would need to go outside and wipe the windows each mornings. I don't have time to do so, and the windows get dirty.
In addition, the grey-brown color that I chose actually makes the house look cheap and plastic
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffJune 23, 2014
We apologize you are not entirely satisfied with your windows. Regarding the condensation, it may be occurring because your new windows are more energy efficient. Please find more information on our Window and Care section: http://www.milgard.com/care-and-war...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Upgraded Style MUCH Better

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer avatar
rvernon
City & State:Danville, CA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We have 3 of these Tuscan-style slider doors in our house. The first two that were installed are the original series and are hard to slide and even harder to lock/unlock. My 10 year-old son sometimes cant even open the door. The newer/upgraded version is much better at sliding and a much easier locking mechanism. That goes for both the door itself as well as the screen door. I would highly recommend this (upgraded) one over the other.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromTuscany® Series Vinyl Windows.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Windows and French Doors

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Blondieee
City & State:Oceanside, CA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am really happy with the Milgard product: windows and French doors. They look terrific. They perform really well. I have not had to turn the AC on (down stairs) since I had the new windows installed. The temperature stays comfortable all day long (about 73) even when the temperatures push 90 outside. I got the highest rating for UV screening and temperature control. The windows were "retrofit" and just replaced my old 90's windows with no damage to the outside building structure after they were installed. My HOA archetectural commitee had to approve it all.
The only issue I had was with the installation. Three windows were not measured correctly and had to be reorderd. My kitchen French door would not close correctly so had to be replaced and then reworked once again. Not a Milgard problem. It was all issues with my installer. Milgard came to my rescue in the very, very end. I am happy now. All is well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pretty good, but could use inprovement

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer avatar
ouroldhouse
City & State:Seattle, WA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Craftsman
Age Home:71+
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have 13 essence double hung windows and some awning and picture windows in my home. The overall use and durability has been good. However, they just feel like not a very refined design. The spoon lock hits the upper casing/stop. It leaves a dent in the painted wood. Ths original double hungs have a nice brass stop to prevent this. The fitment of the interior wood is ok. These windows all are snap together, thus painted joints crack. The casing seem kind of thick compared to other windows. However, I shopped lots of different windows before buying these and even though I liked other windows more the overall value made me choose the milgard essence. Nonetheless, a little better engineering would have really made this window shine compared to others. Milgard customer service has been great. I had one of the lower sash slide pins break while cleaning them. Milgard came right out and fixed it. These was a little inclusion in the casting. I think this was an exception none of my other windows have had any issues.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromTuscany® Series Vinyl Windows.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product, outstanding service.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer avatar
sierradan
City & State:Portland, Oregon
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Unknown
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Tuscany series, with equal sight-lines, looks nice, and the windows operate well. When a couple of the windows needed adjustments, Milgard responded immediately. This is a quality product, backed for life by a Company that will be there if I need them.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the warranty

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer avatar
beryl
City & State:Laguna Hills, Calif.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Spanish/Stucco
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replaced all my windows several years ago. Did one side at a time. One window had a problem with the inset grid. Milgard came right out and repaired it for no charge. Exceptional customer service. Would never buy any other type of window.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 68 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Looking and Efficient

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer avatar
mustang64
City & State:Manhattan Beach, CA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We replaced existing windows (retro-fit) that were falling apart and some were not operable. We are very pleased with our new Milgard Aluminum windows. They operate with ease and block out most of the street noise. We live in a city and off of a boulevard. The look is very sleek as our townhouse is contemporary. We couldn't be more pleased with our choice.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffJune 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. Sounds like the new windows helped make your townhouse more comfortable --- we're glad to hear it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 69 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Problems with quality control.

PostedJune 15, 2014
Customer avatar
JarekW
City & State:Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Spanish/Stucco
Age Home:11-20
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Some of the windows will be replaced. They were shipped without checking. The sliding windows are too short. That should not have ever happened.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 70 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I have condensation in my brand new window ...

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer avatar
jdan
City & State:Colorado
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would like to be contacted by Milgard as there is condensation on one of my brand new windows. I would like for it to be replaced.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffJune 10, 2014
Hi jdan, you may be experiencing some condensation because your new windows are more energy efficient. You can manage condensation by increasing ventilation and reducing indoor humidity. We have some tips for that on our product care page: http://www.milgard.com/care-and-war...

If you have additional questions, please give us a call at 1 800 MILGARD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 71 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Locking is difficult

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Tomboysmom
City & State:Pasadena ca
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
The doors are beautiful and they make my room look so much better but the locking park is not as easy as it could be. You really have to pull up on it. I feel that if I did this 20 times a day that it would break soon. This is for our french doors that swing in,
The sliding doors are on the other hand is perfect. I love them,I already recommended it to our friends who is looking.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffJune 9, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback, we will look into the locking park to make sure it operates smoothly. If you have any other questions, give us a call at 1 800 MILGARD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 72 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The winows look great in my house, they are just what I wanted and expected.

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Ukulelecrazy
City & State:Eagle Point, OR 97524, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far, so good. I have only had the windows for two days.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 73 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

One problem after another POOR customer service

PostedJune 4, 2014
Customer avatar
JoeKing
City & State:Los Angeles, CA, USA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is 5th house Ive done with Milgaurd.Never a problem before they were vinyl. This is my residence. I am an experienced carpenter and have installed at least 100 windows. I used aluminum awning and casements.11 total. Nothing but problems from the beginning. First set were the wrong type of frames. I was able to make a couple work/fit. The rest we had to reorder. Major delay. Thier customer service is terrible. Finally the replacement windows arrive and they are a mess. Silicone smeared all over, metal shaving in all the tracks. Rep comes out AGAIN "OMG these should never have left the factory like this" No Quality control Then All the screens were the wrong size, Most all the screen clips were broken. Then I got the new screens and a few of them were wrong, even though they had the correct size on the sticker. Ive been try to get the screen clips Twice they have sent wrong ones.... And the nitemare continues
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffJune 9, 2014
We apologize the wrong parts were sent to you. We recently made changes to our screens as part of our ongoing product improvement. We have shipped out the correct screen parts needed and you will receive them this week.

We appreciate your continued business and hope you will give us another chance to make things right. Please do not hesitate to follow up if you have additional questions or concerns.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 74 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromStandard Sliding Doors.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor product

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer avatar
aspensmf
City & State:Glenwood Springs, CO 81601, USA
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We purchases a house that was built with milgard products. The screens have been the main problem but we have also had problems with the sealing around the windows and doors. Our screen doors have never slid properly and I am not pleased with the quality of the product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 75 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromTuscany® Series Vinyl Windows.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT PRODUCTS, EXPERTLY INSTALLED

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
City & State:Portland, OR
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Tudor
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My experience was tremendous throughout. The Milgard product line is outstanding and the dealer, Johnson Home Improvement, made the install a breeze. My home looks better, feels warmer and is much quieter than prior to replacement. Pricing was very fair and the savings on utility bills appears to average around 20%. I would recommend the duo of Milgard Products and Johnson Home Imp. to anyone considering a window / door project.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 76 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Fixer06
City & State:Winchester, VA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:6-10
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had a lot of dealings with suppliers and manufacturers having faulty products, everyone has them. But next to none have the excellent customer service and warranty as Milgard. They were quick on responding to my warranty needs, communicated with me while the replacements were being processed, and scheduled the work to my availability. And their techs were very professional, clean, and got the work done a lot quicker than anticipated. I can say that in the 15 years I have been in construction and maintenance, I have never received customer service that even compares to the excellent service that Milgard gives....
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 77 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Installed in new construction, and working well.

PostedMay 22, 2014
Customer avatar
uwave
City & State:Northern Colorado
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Craftsman
Age Home:0-5
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These windows were installed in our newly built home. We upgraded from the contractor's standard window (also Milgard) to the Tuscany series based on the warranty, features, and overall look of the Tuscany. We are glad we upgraded. We live in a windy area and the windows seal well and are quiet in windy conditions. This is our first experience with vinyl windows. I'm happy with them, and looking forward to years of service without any repainting!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 78 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

replaced old aluminum windows and these are great compared to what we had

PostedMay 20, 2014
Customer avatar
jesiegel53
City & State:az
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Spanish/Stucco
Age Home:11-20
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the windows are easy to open, keep the heat out better than i had and have several features that i really love
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 79 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The product and all of our experiences were excellent

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Dahle327
City & State:Poway, CA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The sales rep, the installation crew, and the windows and doors all exceeded our expectations. Two separate visits from Martin the owner just made everything perfect.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 80 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Windows and doors just ok.

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer avatar
GrandpaSquirrel
City & State:Carlsbad, CA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Atrium door. While the appearance is ok, have had service calls already. Also have concerns about the warranty. Nobody has given warranty specifics. Seems to keep heat out.
Slider doors. Seem to work ok and keep the heat out.
Windows. Work well and the house is cooler.
Overall, a 4 out of 5.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffMay 19, 2014
Hi there, thanks for sharing your feedback. You mentioned having concerns about the warranty. You can access all warranty details on the Milgard website: http://www.milgard.com/care-and-war.... In addition, should you ever have any questions, please call us at 1 800 MILGARD, we would be glad to assist you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 26 next>>