Customer reviews for Milgard Milgard® Windows & Doors

Milgard Milgard® Windows & Doors

With one of the industry's largest selections, Milgard has the frames, styles and choices to complement any project.
Overall rating:
4.247 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(604 reviews) 604
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 604 reviews
5 Stars
383
4 Stars
101
3 Stars
46
2 Stars
34
1 Star
40
503 out of 593(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Review 61 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product, great warranty

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Customer avatar
storm
City & State:Glendora, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i am satisfied with my doors. a handle broke, and the parts were sent immediately after my request. on heavier/larger doors; the gliders need to be sturdier and glide with more ease and less sound
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Looks great but beware if you ever plan to open your windows

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Customer avatar
kcollette
City & State:Austin, TX, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Modern
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Architect
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for the Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The positive: These windows are beautiful architecturally. I'm a professional architect and have used these in my own modern home.
The negative:
The screens must be removed or opened via hinge every single time you want to open your window. It is a huge hassle and the tiny plastic clips that hold your screen frame to the window frame break very easily (mine snapped off after just opening my windows three times.
The window mechanism should be designed so that opening via crank, etc. can be done without having to first open the screen.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Guaranty follow through is lacking

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Customer avatar
RonP
City & State:Spring Valley, Ca
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Spanish/Stucco
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We have 16 panes that have become cloudy. Your phone people are very courteous. The one repairman that finally came out to the house was neat, clean and courteous, but came out with the wrong size windows. He said that he would correct the order and reset an appointment. Hearing nothing in a week, I called. Again was met with courtesy, and told nothing had been done or ordered, but was once again assured the order would be placed, and should be ready in 7-10 days. I offered to have the glass delivered to our address. The first available date for repair was just over 6 weeks away, same as the last visit. They did say we would be placed in line in the event of an cancelations. Well, the beat goes on, pray for us.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromVinyl Windows.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Windows

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer avatar
glasshouse
City & State:Escondido, California
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:51-70
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We replaced our old aluminum windows with Milgard vinyl windows back in 1995 (I think). Since then windows in less-used parts of the house have been replaced, the most current a set of French Doors in the dining room. I love these windows! They have worked perfectly with no steaming between the two panes and look as good as they did way back when. Newman has always done a fine job. Their installers are employed by Newman, not subbed, and are extremely careful and clean. We can recommend this company and its product wholeheartedly.
... David and Virginia Drake
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We're very happy with the windows.

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer avatar
butn
City & State:Big Bear Lake, CA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:31-50
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The salesman was very professional & thorough. The installers were very polite, efficient , well organized, and speedy. We were very impressed with them and the owners of the company. Glad we went with Best SGS Inc.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

MANY PROBLEMS

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer avatar
cleo46
City & State:ARVADA, CO
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value for the Price 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
MILGARD TUSCANY
PATIO DOOR CAME WITH BROKEN LATCH DOES NOT LOCK.
PATIO SCREEN DOOR HARD TO MOVE AND DOES NOT CLOSE PROPERLY
DIFFERENT PATIO DOOR SCREEN IS DAMAGED
SLIDING WINDOW HAS DENTS IN THE HANDLE NEAR THE LATCH
TWO DOUBLE HUNG WINDOWS THE GUIDE ON THE BOTTOM WINDOW DO NOT SEAT IN THE SLOT
CANNOT REMOVE ANY OF THREE DOUBLE HUNG WINDOW SCREENS
THEY WILL NOT COME OUT.
ONE SMALL DOUBLE HUNG WINDOW HAS PIECE AT THE BOTTOM INSIDE THAT IS NOT IN PLACE PROPERLY.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffOctober 30, 2014
Hi cleo46, we are disappointed to hear that you have experienced many problems with your products. It is very puzzling, how long have you owned your Milgard windows and doors? Please reach out to us via our online service request form: http://www.milgard.com/service-requ... or give us a call at 1 800 MILGARD.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good fiberglass window,

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Gaffer
City & State:Alhambra, CA, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:51-70
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have both the Double Hung, and Casement windows, all have given us very good service for the four or five years we have had them. The installer did not know enough to do the excellent job that the windows deserved, they did an "okay" installation. I am now in the process of removing one of the double hung windows to weather proof it, just a few things that should have been done in the installation, like caulking etc. We are very pleased with the windows them selves, and Milgard has been out once to renew the weather stripping on the windows, NO charge. The rep was very pleasant.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffOctober 30, 2014
Gaffer, we're glad to hear you are pleased with the your windows and your experience with Milgard. We're sorry to hear the difficulties you experienced with the installer. If you wish to consider a different installer for a future project, please feel free to use our Certified Dealer Locator: http://www.milgard.com/dealer-locat...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 68 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

problems with double hung windows

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Scenic
City & State:Ventura, CA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:11-20
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for the Price 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We just bout a house this year and bought 21 Milgard windows and doors as part of remodeling about 80% of the house.
Most of the windows look and operate properly except 3 double hang windows installed in the master bedroom. all three windows seem to have the same problem-- locking mechanism does not engage unless you push out hard on the window as pulling it down. I can get the windows to lock about 50% of the time but the rest of the family can not engage the locks.
Yesterday, we had a service call from Milgard technician. After removing some of the weather stripping and lubricating window tracks, there was no change in the way the windows operate. The technician said there is nothing else he can do and left.
This is not acceptable and i would like Milgard to step up their service practices and fix the problem or replace my windows with ones that work. If necessary, I am willing to demonstrate the problem to more seasoned technicians or design engineers.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffOctober 30, 2014
Scenic, we are concerned to hear you are having such difficulty engaging the lock. Your Tuscany Series double hung windows are equipped with the SmartTouch® Lock. It should open and unlock the window by lifting the handle and close and lock the window by pressing down on the same handle. Please follow up with us at social@milgard.com if you continue to experience difficulty so we can look into this again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 69 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great windows. Many compliments from my neighbours

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Customer avatar
MWilliams
City & State:Petaluma, CA, USA
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are fantastic windows that look good inside and out. I'm very satisfied with the quality and the follow up support from Milgard. My only issue is the faulty screens which apparently have a manufacturing defect. The screens were replaced once by Milguard service but unfortunately the replacement screens have the same problem.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 70 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromTuscany® Series Vinyl Windows.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful look and very quiet window

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer avatar
jer34
City & State:Casper Wyoming
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:51-70
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have enjoyed the Window all around and plan on future purchases. We would recommend this product to others looking for Windows.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 71 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromTuscany® Series Vinyl Windows.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Can not get service on windows

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Cooper430
City & State:Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the Price 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Windows are difficult to open and many are fogged between the glass.
So far nothing but very poor service if any from Milgard Windows
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffOctober 17, 2014
Cooper430, we are surprised to hear this. Please give us a call at 1 800 MILGARD or send an email to social@milgard.com with your contact information so we can connect you with customer service right away.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 72 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Milgard ULTRA product and professional installation exceeded my expectations!

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Alison14
City & State:Laguna Hills, CA, USA
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Window replacement began as a stressful process until a contractor/friend recommended Milgard. We discussed in detail all factors important to me. I was able to narrow down the manufacturer and product line to Milgard ULTRA; I then decided on new window construction (nail fin). Next step was to find a "professional" company to order and install the 9 windows. Cunningham Doors & Windows (Santa Ana, CA) provided the best customer service. Their installers did an extraordinary job on every window. I have neighbors stop to admire and inquire about these new windows -- wow! My family is very pleased with the Milgard ULTRA windows.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffOctober 30, 2014
Alison14, yes, window replacement projects can be quite a task, especially if it is your first time. We're glad to hear you are pleased with choosing Milgard and received guidance from experts throughout the process. Don't forget to register your Full Lifetime Warranty: http://www.milgard.com/warranty-reg... Congrats on your new windows!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 73 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromTuscany® Series Vinyl Windows.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product changes the entire appearance of our cabin

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Customer avatar
OBVAN
City & State:Running Springs, CA, USA
Age:65 or over
Style of Home:Unknown
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Tuscany windows transformed our ordinary cabin into a very charming cabin. The views out each window are so enhanced, that they each look like a beautiful scenery picture. We are very happy with each windows in each room.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 74 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a couple of complaints/observations

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Bethy
City & State:British Columbia, Canada
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
There should be a way of locking the slider mid position so it can be open but not enough to allow an intruder. We live ground level.
The glue used to affix your Milgard stickers is too hard to remove. I was told not to use Goo Gone.
Any suggestions? Thank you.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffOctober 13, 2014
Hi Bethy,

We just came out with SmartTouch Bolt®, which has the feature of locking patio doors in a vented position. While we currently do not offer that on windows, it is certainly a great suggestion. We will forward it to our product management team.

We are sorry to hear the residue has been difficult to remove, our stickers generally peel right off. We can recommend using mild soap (dish soap works) and water. You can also try rubbing an ice cube over the residue. Please give us a call if you are still having trouble 1 800 MILGARD.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 75 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromTuscany® Series Vinyl Windows.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE my windows

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer avatar
TinaS
City & State:Portland, Or
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Colonial
Age Home:51-70
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really love my new windows, especially since I figured out how to take the screens in and out. It is really very easy. In an earlier review, I said the screens need improvement. I now take that back. Thank you.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from MilgardBy Milgard StaffOctober 10, 2014
TinaS, feedback from consumers like you is important to us. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and helping us serve you better in our product development. We are glad to hear how much you love your new windows!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 76 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromTuscany® Series Vinyl Windows.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

windows

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Chief
City & State:Half Moon Bay, CA
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just like to say they are lovely windows. The crew at SGK were so professional and awesome I would definitely recommend you both.
Terri Pacheco
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 77 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Product not really what I expected although the windows are still quite nice.

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer avatar
sierrawest
City & State:Truckee, CA 96161, USA
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:11-20
Customer Type:Contractor
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for the Price 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Milgard Essence gliders I purchased about 6 months ago have many negative issues relating to the design and construction of the individual units. I ordered my units triple pane as part of an energy retrofit for a home located in a cold climate. One issue is the seal design of the units because the weather stripping is incompletely installed and there are air leaks. While these windows were supplied to me at a materials cost of 1/4 the proposed materials cost of triple pane windows from Europe, I feel little or no attention to fabrication or design detail was made to make the gaskets and seals perform well for cold climates. Another issue relating to the construction is that the outside mullion covers, on every window, have curled up and pulled away from the mullion from exposure to the sun! Again, my climate is a cold climate therefore these mullions are unlikely to hold up in a hot climate. Factory applied chemical or mechanical adhesive would have prevented these mullion failures. Once the mullions pull open from the sun, air and water come directly inside, as if the window were just left open. Lastly, my windows were not assembled with the utmost care. By this I mean the factory applied exterior paint had many micro and mega scratches from being moved across the assembly table. The exteriors were not clean, there was fiberglass dust from cutting operations and sealant blemishes. On the inside, some of the pine had small dents or gauges from being dragged around during assembly at the factory. These windows needed work when they arrived, they were not ready for the process of staining the pine. If I paid for what was explained to me to be a fancy handmade new car and when the car was delivered full of scratches in the paint and other issues, I would be mad. That's all the bad stuff I have to say. These triple pane windows are quiet, hardly hear any noise from outside. The window hardware is very nice and the windows roll perfectly smoothly and lock with a wonderful "click". The factory workers did a great job selecting color matched pine for the interiors. Packaging for shipping was professional, with lots of layers of protection and handles had been installed to assist with moving these heavy triple pane windows. The product has good qualities and bad qualities. More attention should have been given to weather stripping these windows going into a cold climate. In the future I'm confident they'll get the design sorted out.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 78 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromTuscany® Series Vinyl Windows.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My windows are awesome!

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Sherleigh
City & State:Casper, WY, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:21-30
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We replaced all the windows in our house and wish we had done so a long time ago. They both keep the heat down in the summer, and keep cold out in the winter. We especially like the filtered light, cutting glare from the sun. And, the windows look so nice -- both inside and out. We would recommend these type windows to everyone!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 79 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
This review is fromTuscany® Series Sliding Door.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great looking door!

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer avatar
OrchardRunner200
City & State:Santa Paula, CA 93060, USA
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Style of Home:Ranch
Age Home:51-70
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tuscany slider door Installation a breeze . . . Alex Salinas from Quality Windows-Oxnard provided excellent guidance and recommendations. . . beat box stores hands down. Very satisfied with purchase, install and results! Thank you Milgard-Simi Valley!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 80 for Milgard® Windows & Doors
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Purchse

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Customer avatar
MaryMary
City & State:Tracy, CA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Customer Type:Homeowner
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the Price 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Style line windows with Sun Coat Max replaced 10, 28 year old windows that did not work properly. These gems are so easy to open and close. Made our home noticeable quieter and we have a very comfortable temperature. Looking forward to a warmer winter this year.They are beautiful and put a smile on my face every time I pull into the drive way. We have received many compliments on these windows!!! We will be saving up for new french for doors.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 31 next>>